Which are the Three Broad Categories of Natural Vegetation?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The Three Broad Categories of Natural Vegetation are forests, grasslands, and shrubs. Forests grow where temperature and rainfall are abundant to support a tree cover. These factors are responsible for the growth of open and dense forests. Shrubs grow in the dry region. Lastly, grasslands grow in the region of moderate rain.

Characteristics of Natural Vegetation

The characteristics of vegetation and the height of the land are closely related. We can no longer locate the dense sal and teak jungles as the height rises.

On the sides of the mountains, there are tall trees with conical canopies and thin, pointed leaves. Further, elevation gains reveal land covered in short grass and snow. Vegetation growth depends on temperature, moisture, slope, and soil thickness.

Three Broad Categories of Natural Vegetation

  • Forest: A densely forested area of land is referred to as a forest. This type of natural vegetation can be found in areas where the temperature and rainfall are sufficient to support tree cover. Forests can be dense or open, depending on temperature and rainfall.
  • Grassland: This type of vegetation grows in areas with moderate rainfall. Tall trees are uncommon in grasslands.
  • Shrubs: Thorny shrubs and scrubs thrive in the desert.

What is a Natural Vegetation?

A plant community that has grown naturally without human aid and has been left undisturbed by humans for a long time is called Natural Vegetation. It is also known as virgin vegetation. The factors that affect the natural vegetation are:

  • Growing demand for cultivated land
  • Urbanization
  • Mining
  • Development of industries
  • Over-grazing of pastures, etc.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium