When was Napoleon Defeated?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

Napoleon was defeated at the Battle of Waterloo on June 18, 1815. He was defeated by a coalition of nations consisting of Prussia, Britain, and the Netherlands. His defeat was such that the phrase ‘he/she met their Waterloo’ connotes a massive personal disaster. Napoleon abdicated after his defeat, and Coalition forces entered Paris on 7 July.

Defeat of Napoleon

Napoleon’s 100-day return from exile came to an end with the victory at Waterloo, which also put an end to his rule as the French emperor. Napoleon’s resignation brought an end to the First French Empire and ushered in the Pax Britannica, also known as the British Peace.

Napoleon’s army of 72,000 men engaged the combined forces of the Duke of Wellington’s allies, a 68,000-strong army made up of British, Dutch, Belgian, and German units, as well as about 45,000 Prussians, in combat.

Battles of Waterloo

The Battle of Waterloo, also known as La Belle Alliance, which took place on June 18, 1815, was Napoleon’s final defeat and put an end to 23 years of sporadic conflict between France and the other European superpowers.

Three miles (five kilometers) south of Waterloo village, Gebhard Leberecht von Blücher was in charge of the bulk of the forces during the Hundred Days of Napoleon’s restoration (which is 9 miles [14.5 km] south of Brussels).


When was Napoleon Defeated?

On 18 June 1815, Napoleon was defeated at the Battle of Waterloo. He was overthrown by a coalition of nations that included Prussia, Britain, and the Netherlands. She lost so badly that the phrase he/she reached their Waterloo refers to a major personal setback. Napoleon surrendered after his defeat, and on July 7, coalition forces occupied Paris.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium