What was the German Parliament Called?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The German parliament was called the Bundestag. It was established on 7 September 1949, which is 72 years ago. The Bundestag or German parliament has 598 nominal members who are elected for four-year terms. The seats in the Bundestag are distributed among the sixteen German states in proportion to the population of the states eligible for the vote.

Bundestag succeeded Reichstag which was established in 1933. There are five vice presidents in the Bundestag and is currently presided over by Wolfgang Schäuble of the CDU.

Name of German Parliament

It is a German parliament that is directly elected by the German people. The members of the German Parliament are the representatives of the German people. German citizens over the age of 18 elect the Bundestag. The German people are represented by the members of the Bundestag as a whole. They are accountable only to their electorate and are not bound by any directive or order.

The minimum number of members of the Bundestag which is legal is 598. The total number of members in the current 20th Bundestag is 736 due to the arrangement of overhangs and leveling seats. It is the largest Bundestag to date. It is the largest freely elected national parliamentary chamber in the world.

Functions of the German Parliament

Parliament has many functions such as:

  • Participation in the legislative process.
  • The election of the chancellor and the head of government.
  • Sets the budget of the government.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium