What is the Jurisdiction of Lokpal?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The Jurisdiction of Lokpal includes The Prime Minister, Ministers, Members of Parliament, Groups A, B, C, and D officers, and Central Government officials. The purpose of enacting such a law is to eliminate corruption throughout the Indian political system.

Jurisdiction of Lokpal

In the Indian Republic, the Lokpal is a body of ombudsmen or an anti-corruption institution representing the general public’s interests.

  • Pradip Kumar Mohanty serves as Lokpal’s current Chairman.
  • The Lokpal has jurisdiction over inquiries into corruption charges against federal government officials and other matters concerning corruption.
  • Following Anna Hazare’s Jan Lokpal movement in 2011, parliament revised and adopted the Lokpal and Lokayuktas Act in 2013.
  • The Lokpal (chairman or member) shall be at least 45 years old when they take office as a chairperson or member.
  • The Lokpal Bill allows allegations of corruption in the case of the other ministers, Prime minister, MPs, and group A, B, C, and D personnel of the central government to be filed with the ombudsman.
  • At the federal level, the Lokpal looks into corruption claims, while Lokayukta is in charge of doing so at the state level.
  • The first Administrative Reforms Commission (ARC) advocated for the creation of the Lokpal Office because they believed it was necessary to stop citizens’ perceptions of unfairness and boost public confidence in the effectiveness of the administrative system.


What is the Jurisdiction of Lokpal?

The Jurisdiction of Lokpal has authority over the Prime Minister, Members of Parliament, Ministers, Groups A, B, C, and D officers, as well as employees of the Central Government. The reason for enacting it is to remove corruption in the political system of India.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium