What is Appellate Jurisdiction of the Supreme Court?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 14th, 2023

The Supreme Court has broad Appellate Jurisdiction all over the country’s courts and tribunals. It is known as the highest Court of Appeal in the country. The Supreme Court’s appellate jurisdiction is one of its three jurisdictions. The Supreme Court has three branches of jurisdiction: original, appellate, and advisory.

Appellate Jurisdiction of Supreme Court

Appellate Jurisdiction of the Supreme Court is over Courts and Tribunals in India, as it may give special permission to appeal under Article 136 of the Constitution. This is valid for any judgment, decree, resolution, sentence, or order passed or made by any Court or Tribunal in India’s territory.

In some situations, the Supreme Court’s appeal authority can be invoked by a certificate issued by the High Court under Articles 132 (1), 133 (1), or 134of the Constitution in relation to a decision or final order of a High Court, such as:

  • Civil cases, irrespective of any questions of law with respect to the interpretation of the Constitution.
  • Criminal cases, irrespective of any Constitutional question.
  • Cases involving the interpretation of the Constitution can be civil, criminal, or any other.

Parliament is authorized to provide the Supreme Court further authority to entertain and hear appeals from any High Court judgment, final order, or sentence in a criminal matter. The Supreme Court has special advisory jurisdiction in situations that the President of India may explicitly submit to it under Article 143 of the Constitution.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium