How Many Years did British Ruled India?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The British ruled India for 89 years (approx.). British domination, also known as colonialism, began in India after the Battle of Plassey in 1757. The British East India Company was ruling India before the rule of the Crown. This British company was established in 1600, with the main objective of concentrating on trading spices from the East Indies (India).

British Rule in India

The British East India Company designated its first port at Surat and gradually developed well-inhabited colonies during the 17th century in states such as Machilipatnam (Mausilipatnam), Surat, Bombay, and Madras. After the fall of the Mughals around 1750, the Company gained control of other territories and took control of India.

The country also had a presence in the European colonies, i.e. Portuguese, Dutch, French, and Danish. The British Raj is called the rule of the British Crown over the Indian subcontinent, also known as the Crown rule in India or direct rule in India.

  • The British ruled India from 1858 until the independence of India and Pakistan in 1947.
  • The Raj was planned to increase Indian participation in governance, but the powerlessness of the Indians to determine their future without the permission of the British led to an increasingly stubborn national independence movement.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium