The Indian Independence Act was passed in which year?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The Indian Independence Act was passed by the British Parliament in 1947. This act also divided British India into two new independent dominions of India and Pakistan. The draft for this act was created by the Labour Party of England which was headed by Clement Attlee. It was based on the Mountbatten Plan, which was an agreement between Lord Mountbatten, the INC, the Sikh community, and the Muslim League.

When was Indian Independence Act passed?

The Indian Independence Act caused the biggest forced migration of Muslim, Hindu, and Sikh populations. Assent to this act was provided on 18 July 1947, and it came into being on 15 August 1947. In accordance with this act, the princely states of India were given the option to choose between being a part of India or Pakistan.

After the division of British India, Jawaharlal Nehru was appointed India’s first Prime Minister, and Lord Mountbatten continued as Governor-General. Pakistan further split into Pakistan and East Pakistan, which is now Bangladesh. Liaquat Ali Khan became Pakistan’s Prime Minister, and Muhammad Ali Jinnah became Pakistan’s Governor-General.

  • India Independence Act was passed after the English government had various meetings with the Indian National Congress, and leaders of the Sikh Community, and the Muslim Community.
  • At that time, each community wanted its own different country which was causing many rifts between Indians.
  • In the end, it was decided for India to be partitioned and Pakistan to become a separate country.
  • Through this act, India and Pakistan gained freedom.


The Indian Independence Act was passed in which year?

In 1947, the British Parliament passed the Indian Independence Act. This act provided autonomy and sovereignty to both India and Pakistan. Indian Independence Act led to the partition of both countries, which resulted in mass migration.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium