How many Reserve Bank of India are there in India?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The Reserve Bank of India has 19 regional and four zonal offices. RBI is located in 31 different locations across India. The Reserve Bank of India’s headquarters is in Mumbai. The Reserve Bank of India is India’s central bank, which began operations on April 1, 1935, under the Reserve Bank of India Act.

Total Number of Reserve Bank of India

The Reserve Bank of India has four zonal offices in Kolkata, Mumbai, Delhi, and Chennai. Delhi represents the North Region, Kolkata represents the East Region, Mumbai represents the West Region, and Chennai represents the South Region.

Thiruvananthapuram, Bhubaneshwar, Bhopal, Patna, Nagpur, Lucknow, Mumbai, Kochi, Kolkata, Jammu, Kanpur, Chennai, Delhi, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Ahmedabad, Chandigarh, Jaipur, and Bangalore are among the RBI’s 19 regional offices. With a few exceptions, these offices are mostly located in state capitals.

RBI has 65 branches in 26 states/union territories of India. RBI is responsible for regulating the monetary policy of India, and various financial operations.

Importance of the RBI

The Importance of the Reserve Bank of India is as follows:

  • It is an almost 85+ years old financial institution that works to maintain financial fluency in the country.
  • It gives loans to the public sector banks like SBI and PNB and Private sector banks like ICICI and HDFC banks.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium