How Many RBI Branches are in India?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

RBI (Reserve Bank of India) has 31 branches in India, with its headquarters in Mumbai and its branches in the state’s capitals. The RBI office jurisdiction in Hyderabad extends to Telangana and Andhra Pradesh states. RBI is also located in Kanpur, Nagpur, and Kochi.

Total RBI Branches in India

The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) is the regulatory body and central bank of India responsible for regulating the banking system in India. The Finance Indian Government owns it.

  • It is the primary reason for the issuance, control, and preservation of Indian rupees.
  • It manages the country’s main payment systems and promotes economic development.
  • The Bharatiya Reserve Bank Note Mudran (BRBNMPL) is a specialized division of the Reserve Bank of India that prints and mints Indian currency notes (INR) at two printing presses in Dewas (central India) and Nashik (western India).
  • The Reserve Bank of India established the National Payments Corporation of India as a specialized division to regulate India’s settlement and payment systems.
  • The Deposit Insurance and Credit Guarantee Corporation were established by the RBI as a specialized division to provide deposit insurance and credit guarantee facilities to Indian banks.


How Many RBI Branches are in India?

There are about 31 branches of RBI in different locations in India, with its headquarters located in Mumbai, and the branches are present in the state capitals. The Ministry of Finance is the owner of RBI. It is in charge of managing the supply of Indian rupees and controlling its issuance.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium