How Many Mountain Ranges are there in India?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

There are seven Mountain Ranges in India, all of which have peaks higher than 1,000 meters. The Himalayan range is the tallest and most well-known mountain range in India. The names of seven mountain ranges in India are The Himalayan mountains, The Karakoram and Pir Panjal range, the Purvanchal range or eastern mountain range, Vindhya and Satpura range, the Aravali range, the Eastern ghats, and the Western ghats.

Mountain Ranges in India

A mountain range, sometimes known as a hill range, is a group of hills or mountains connected by high terrain.

  • The Himalayan Mountains: The Himalayan Mountains are a geologically unstable region. With its lofty peaks, wide valleys, and swift rivers, the Himalayan mountain range exhibits a young topography. The main source of water and forest wealth is the mountain range.
  • Karakoram and Pir Panjal Range: Located north and south of the Himalayas. Deo Tibba (6,001 m) and Indrasan (6,221 m) are two important peaks at the eastern end of the range.
  • Purvanchal Range or Eastern Mountain Range: This can be considered an extension of the Himalayas in the eastern part of India. This range includes all the eastern states of India, colloquially known as the “Seven Sisters.”
  • Vindhya and Satpura Ranges: These ranges are parallel and are situated in Central India. The tallest mountains in the Vindhya and Satpura ranges are Kalumar Peak (752 m) and Dhupgarh Peak (1350 m).
  • Aravali Range: It is the oldest mountain range in India and the world. The range varies from 10 km to 100 km. Guru Shikhar is the highest point in the Aravalli range, rising 1722 meters above sea level.
  • Eastern Ghats: They are an irregular mountain range on the eastern part of the Indian peninsula that runs parallel to the Bay of Bengal. They offer an incredibly fertile area ideal for crops like rice. Mahendragiri Peak is the highest point (1501 m).
  • Western Ghats: These are a 1600 m long mountain range in South India that stretches from Gujarat to Kanyakumari. The Western Ghats are a UNESCO World Heritage Site with rich biodiversity. The highest peak is Anaimudi (2695 m).


How Many Mountain Ranges are there in India?

There are 7 Mountain Ranges in India such as the Karakoram and Pir Panjal ranges, the Himalayan mountains, the Vindhya and Satpura ranges, the Purvanchal range or eastern mountain range, the eastern ghats, the Aravali range, and the western ghats.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium