How Many Members are in SCO?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 14th, 2023

SCO or the Shanghai Cooperation Organization has a total of eight members. India, Tajikistan, Russia, Pakistan, China Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, and Uzbekistan are all members of the SCO. Four Observer States (Belarus, Iran, Afghanistan, and Mongolia) and six Dialogue Partners were involved in granting full membership (Nepal, Armenia, Sri Lanka, Azerbaijan, Cambodia, and Turkey).

Members in SCO

The Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) has been a viewer in the UN General Assembly since 2005. In 2010, the SCO Secretariats and the UN marked a Joint Declaration on Cooperation. SCO Secretariat has also founded collaborations with:

Top International Organisations in the World
ESCAP United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific
IOM International Organization for Migration
UNOCT UN Office on Counter-Terrorism
UNODC UN Office on Drugs and Crime
UNESCO UN Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation
UNWTO World Tourism Organisation

Why is SCO an Important Group in The World?

The SCO works with its member countries to improve education, transportation, environmental protection, energy, and other critical areas. It is also their responsibility to ensure the security and stability of Central Asia’s peace. The SCO is considered important for India because it allows them to express their concerns about cross-border terrorism. It will also aid India’s efforts to improve relations with Europe.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium