How Many Exams are there in UPSC?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 14th, 2023

In the Union Public Service Commission there are approximately 14 different types of examinations. These exams serve as a gateway for aspirants to join the civil services, armed forces, and other elite government services. The UPSC is responsible for the administration, organization, and conduct of these examinations in accordance with the rules and regulations set by the Government of India.

UPSC is the recruiting agency for top-level Central Government jobs like IAS, IPS, IFS, and many more. Some of the most well-known UPSC exams include the Civil Services Examination, Engineering Services Examination, and Combined Defense Services Examination.

How Many Exams are there in UPSC?

The Union Public Service Commission is a constitutional body responsible for conducting various examinations for recruitment to various civil services and other government positions in India. These exams are conducted to ensure that the government is able to recruit highly qualified and competent individuals for various positions in civil services, defence services, engineering services, medical services, economic and statistical services, and other important departments.

The selection process involves a rigorous examination process that evaluates candidates’ knowledge, skills, and aptitude to perform the duties of their respective positions. Candidates can check the list of some of the major exams conducted by UPSC:

Stages in UPSC Exams

Since there are numerous exams conducted by UPSC, they are carried out through multiple stages. The number of stages varies depending on the exam. However, most of the exams conducted by UPSC have three stages. Candidates can check the general overview of the three stages of the UPSC exam:

  • Preliminary Examination: This is the first stage of the UPSC exam and is conducted in the form of an objective type test consisting of multiple-choice questions. The questions are meant to test a candidate’s basic understanding and knowledge of subjects such as General Studies and Aptitude. The marks obtained in the UPSC Prelims exam are not considered in the final selection, but it serves as a qualifying examination for the next stage.
  • Main Examination: The second stage is the UPSC Mains exam, which consists of nine descriptive-type papers. These papers cover a wide range of subjects including languages, general studies, and optional subjects. This stage is designed to test a candidate’s in-depth knowledge and understanding of the subjects.
  • Personality Test/Interview: This is the final stage of the UPSC exam, which evaluates the candidate’s personality traits, communication skills, and overall suitability for the position. The interview panel includes members of the UPSC and other experts from the relevant field.

The number of stages and components of some exams vary. For example, the UPSC CSE is a three-stage examination that includes a Prelim, Mains, and Interview. The Indian Forest Service Examination is a two-stage examination that includes a Prelim and Mains. The Engineering Services Examination is a four-stage examination that includes a Prelim, Mains, Interview, and Medical exam.


How Many Exams in UPSC?

UPSC conducts approximately fourteen exams, although the exact number may vary depending on the commission’s decision. Each year, several major exams are conducted by UPSC, such as the Engineering Services Examination, Civil Services Examination, Indian Forest Service Examination, and others. These exams have distinct eligibility criteria, selection processes, and exam patterns.

UPSC Articles
UPSC Selection Process IPS Books
IAS vs NDA Salary Environment Books for UPSC
Internal Security Books for UPSC Economics for UPSC
Geography for UPSC Disaster Management Books for UPSC
IFS Eligibility Governance Books for UPSC
Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium