How Many colours are there on the Indian Flag?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 14th, 2023

There are three colors on the National Flag of India which are Saffron, White, and Green. This is the reason why it is known as “Tiranga” in Hindi which means ‘three colors’. Apart from these three colors, there is an Ashoka Chakra in the middle which represents the rules of Dharma.

Table of content


Indian Flag Colour

The Indian National Flag, also known as Tiranga, consists of three colors – Saffron, White, and Green from top to bottom. Each color represents an idea which is written below:

  • Saffron – Sacrifice and Courage
  • White – Peace, Purity, and Truth
  • Green – Fertility, Growth, and Prosperity
  • Ashoka Chakra – It has 24 spokes of blue color and represents the laws of Dharma.

According to the Flag Code of India, the width: height aspect ratio of the Indian flag is 3:2. All three horizontal bands (saffron, white and green) of the flag are of equal size. There are twenty-four equally spaced spokes in the Ashoka Chakra.

The flag was later retained as the Republic of India. In India, the Indian national flag is always referred to by the term “tricolor”. The flag is based on the flag of the Indian National Congress called the Swaraj flag which was designed by Pingali Venkayya.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium