How Many Cabinet Committees are There?

By Balaji

Updated on: February 17th, 2023

There are currently eight cabinet committees. Except for the Cabinet Committee on Parliamentary Affairs and Accommodation, all committees are led by the Prime Minister. They are either not mentioned in the Constitution or emerge in an unconstitutional manner. The purpose of these committees is to assist the central government. Their analysis of any central government policy assists the government in making changes to those policies.

Table of content

  • 1. Total Number of Cabinet Committees (more)

Total Number of Cabinet Committees

To understand this better, first learn about the 8 cabinet committees of India. Below is the list of eight cabinet committees:

Cabinet Committees of India

Employment and Skill Development Cabinet Committee

Parliamentary Affairs Cabinet Committee

Accommodation Cabinet Committee

Appointment Cabinet Committee

Political Affairs Cabinet Committee

Investment and Growth Cabinet Committee

Security Cabinet Committee

Economic Affairs Cabinet Committee

Cabinet Committee Role:

Eight cabinet committees have key roles, and they are an organizational instrument to reduce the immense workload of the Cabinet.

  • They encourage in-depth policy analysis and influential coordination.
  • Cabinet Committees are based on the principles of delegation and effective representation.
  • They resolve issues and formulate recommendations for consideration by the Cabinet.
  • These committees make and review decisions as well.

The Government of India had reconstituted eight key cabinet committees for the year 2021. There are two new cabinet committees. The first is for investment and growth, while the second is for employment and skill development.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium