Name the Three Parallel Ranges of the Himalayas

By Shivank Goel|Updated : September 6th, 2022

The three parallel ranges of the Himalayas include the Great Himalayas or Himadri in the northmost, Himachal or Middle Himalayas in the south Great Himalayas, and the Shiwaliks in the southern part of the Himalayas. The Great Himalayas, or the HImadri, has the world's highest peaks that have a height of 6000 meters, and the lowest peak ranges fall in the Shiwaliks or the outer Himalayas with a mountain range between 900 to 1100 meters.

Three Parallel Ranges of the Himalayas

Here are the three parallel ranges of the Himalayas-

  • The Great Himalayas or Inner Himalayas- It is also known as the Himadri. It is the continuous or non-stop range of the Himalayas that comprises the loftiest tops with a normal stature of 6,000 meters. It is consistently covered with snow and results in perpetual streams and ice sheets.
  • Lesser Himalayas or Himachal- The lesser Himalayas lie in the south of Himadri. They form a framework of the toughest mountains. The normal height of the mountains ranges between 3700 to 4500 meters. The renowned valleys of Kangra, Kullu, and Kashmir are a part of the lesser Himalayas.
  • Outer Himalayas or Shiwaliks- Shiwaliks accounts for the furthest scope of the Himalays. Its mountain ranges between 900 to 1100 meters in height. These ranges are made out of unconsolidated stone material. It includes the Duns (longitudinal valleys which are lying between lesser Himalayas and Shiwaliks). Examples of Duns are Patlin Dun, Kotli Dun, Dehra Dun, etc.

Related Questions:-


write a comment


  • The great Himalayas or Inner Himalayas, Lesser Himalayas or Himachal, and Outer Himalayas or Shiwaliks are the three parallel ranges of the Himalayas.

  • Among the three parallel ranges of the Himalayas, the Great Himalayas or Inner Himalayas has the highest mountains, with a height upto 6000 meters. In the Lesser Himalayas or Himachal, the height ranges from  3700 to 4500 meters, while in the Outer Himalayas or Shiwaliks, it is between 900 and 1,100 meters.

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates