Which State of India touches maximum State Boundaries?

By Mandeep Kumar|Updated : July 26th, 2022

The Indian state which touches maximum state boundaries is Uttar Pradesh. The state shares its border with Rajasthan to the west; Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, and Delhi to the northwest; Uttarakhand, Bihar to the east, Madhya Pradesh to the south; touches the states of Jharkhand and Chhattisgarh to the southeast; and an international border with Nepal to the north.

Answer: Uttar Pradesh touches maximum state boundaries. It shares its border with nine different Indian states.

Uttar Pradesh is divided into 75 districts and each district is governed by a District Magistrate. There are eighteen divisions namely Saharanpur, Moradabad, Bareilly, Meerut, Aligarh, Agra, Devipatan, Basti, Gorakhpur, Kanpur, Lucknow, Faizabad, Azamgarh, Jhansi, Chitrakoot, Allahabad, Varanasi, and Mirzapur.

More About Uttar Pradesh

More details pertaining to Uttar Pradesh can be seen below:

  • It is the most populous state in India.

  • The sex ratio of the state in 2011 the state is at 912 women to 1000 men.

  • The official language of Uttar Pradesh is Hindi.

  • It is the second largest economy in India after Maharashtra.

  • It has the largest railway network in the country.

  • Uttar Pradesh houses two international airports and six domestic airports.

  • It is home to three World Heritage Sites namely the Taj Mahal, Agra Fort, and Fatehpur Sikri.


Which State of India touches maximum State Boundaries?

Uttar Pradesh shares its border with maximum states. It shares its boundaries with nine states that are Rajasthan, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Delhi, Uttarakhand, Bihar, Madhya Pradesh, Jharkhand, and Chhattisgarh.

Read More:


write a comment

PO, Clerk, SO, Insurance


Follow us for latest updates