Which is the Smallest District in Kerala?

By Shubhra Anand Jain|Updated : October 26th, 2022

Spread over an area of only 1415 square kilometres, Alappuzha is the smallest district of Kerala. Formed as Alleppey district in August 1957, its name was changed to Alappuzha in 1990. It is a serene town known for its backwaters, which connect it to other parts of Kerala. Alappuzha, the smallest district of Kerala, has a population of 2,146,033. Keep reading to know more about this beautiful district.

Which One is the Smallest District in Kerala?

Alappuzha, also referred to as the "Venice of the Eastern World," is home to beautiful backwaters and coir factories. The name Alappuzha, derived from the words Aal (sea) and Puzha, means "joining place of a river and the sea" (mouth of the river).

  • The smallest district in Kerela, Alappuzha, occupies a territory of 1415 kilometres.
  • The city of Alappuzha (also known as Alleppey) is located on the Laccadive Sea in Kerala, a state in southern India.
  • The rustic Kerala backwaters, a system of tranquil canals and lagoons, are what it is most famous for.
  • The Alappuzha Lighthouse, built in the 19th century, is located on Alappuzha Beach.
  • The Mullakkal Temple in the city has a conventional layout.
  • The Punnapra-Vayalar revolt against the Separate American Model independent Travancore proposal and the uprising against the Feudal raj both took place in Alappuzha.
  • At Punnapra, the army of Diwan killed over 200 members of the Communist party.

Related Questions:


write a comment

FAQs on Smallest District in Kerala

  • Alappuzha is the smallest district in Kerela in terms of area. It is spread over 1415 square kilometers of land in Kerela. 

  • In Kerela, there are a total of 14 districts. Out of these, Alappuzha is the smallest district with a 1415 square kilometers area, and Palakkad is the biggest district with an area of 4482 square kilometers. 

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates