What are the 13 parts of an Animal Cell?

By Shivank Goel|Updated : August 25th, 2022

The thirteen parts of an animal cell are vacuoles, cytoplasm, vesicles, centrioles, ribosomes, nuclear membrane, cell membrane, cytoskeleton, mitochondria, endoplasmic reticulum, nucleolus, Golgi apparatus, and nucleus. Irrespective of a plant or an animal cell, their numbers differ based on the species.

The animal cell is placed under the category of eukaryotic cells. The eukaryotic cell has a membrane-bound nucleus and organelles.

Parts and functions of an Animal Cell

An animal cell is composed of several important parts. The basic structure of an animal cell is generally composed of the cytoplasm, nucleus, plasma membrane, mitochondria, and ribosomes. Talking about the functions of an animal cell, there are some common functions that all the cells perform, such as:

  • The primary function of physical growth
  • Oxidizing food substances to release energy for other key life processes
  • Converting food into energy is called metabolism
  • Reproduction of the cells

Related Questions:-


write a comment


  • The animal cells are classified under the ‘eukaryotic cell’ category.

  • Some of the common functions of an animal cell are carrying out metabolic processes, oxidation of food to release energy, cell reproduction & physical growth.

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates