Why is Article 14, 19 and 21 called the Golden Triangle?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

Articles 14, 19, and 21 are known as the Golden Triangle because they are regarded as the fundamental principles for the country’s smooth operation. Article 14 addresses the right to equality, Article 19 the right to liberty, and Article 21 the right to life and liberty.

These articles are critical to understanding the concept of the rule of law. Without these articles, the basic principles of the country’s smooth running of life for its citizens would be impossible. That is why Articles 14, 19, and 21 are collectively known as the Golden Triangle.

Golden Triangle of the Indian Constitution

The Golden Triangle shields citizens from any violation of their rights. The case of Maneka Gandhi vs Union of India paved the path for the development of the Golden Triangle.

Let’s discuss all the articles included in Golden Triangle in detail below.

  • Article 14: Provided that the State shall not deny any person equality before the law within the territorial limits of India or on the grounds of caste, religion, sex, or place of birth.
  • Article 19: It is about the protection of certain rights regarding freedom of expression and speech. All citizens in India have the freedom of expression and speech to form unions and to assemble peacefully and freely throughout the territory of India. To move from, to practice any profession, and to settle at any place in India.
  • Article 21: It talks about the protection of life and personal liberty. According to Article 21, no person shall be deprived of personal liberty and life in accordance with the procedure established by law.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium