Who is the Governor of Bihar?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The current Governor of the Bihar state is Phagu Chauhan. He is the 29th Governor of Bihar. He served as a legislator for multiple parties, including the Lok Dal, the Bahujan Samaj Party, and the Bharatiya Janata Party, in the 17th Legislative Assembly of Uttar Pradesh from the Ghosi constituency, which he won a record six times. The governor of Bihar is a nominal head and representative of the President of India in the state of Bihar.

Governor of Bihar

A notional leader and the President of India‘s representative in the state of Bihar, the governor of Bihar serves both roles. A five-year term is granted to the Governor by the President. Currently, Bihar is governed by Phagu Chauhan. Such Bihar Governors who became Indian Presidents include former President Zakir Hussain & current President Ram Nath Kovind.

The Indian Red Cross Society’s Bihar Branch, the Bihar Sainik Kalyana Nideshalaya, the Gandhi Sangrahalaya, and other organisations have Phagu Chauhan as their former president. On January 1st, 1948, Chauhan was born in the hamlet of Sekhupur in the current state of Uttar Pradesh’s Azamgarh district.

Article 316 of the Indian Constitution empowers the Governor of Bihar to appoint the Members of the Bihar Public Service Commission and its Chairman. He shares the report on affairs of the state with the Government of India. The powers of the Governor have been elaborated in Article 161, which are given below:

  • Executive power over the administration, nominations, and removal
  • Legislative power over passing laws, the state legislature (Vidhan Parishad or Vidhan Sabha)
  • Discretionary powers are to be used at the governor’s discretion


Who is the Governor of Bihar?

Phagu Chauhan is the Governor of Bihar currently. In July 2019, Chauhan was appointed the 29th Governor of Bihar. In the state of Bihar, the governor serves as the president of India’s nominal head of state. The President appoints the Governor for a 5-year term. D.Y. Patil, Ram Nath Kovind, Satya Pal Malik, & Lalji Tandon are former governors of Bihar.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium