Which State of India Touches Maximum State Boundaries?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

Uttar Pradesh is the state which touches the maximum state boundaries in India. The state shares its boundary with 9 other States/Union Territories. It shares its border with Rajasthan to the West, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Delhi to the Northwest, Uttarakhand, Bihar, and Madhya Pradesh to the East, Jharkhand, and Chhattisgarh to the Southeast, and an International boundary with Nepal to the North. Uttar Pradesh is a state located in Northern India. Its capital city is Lucknow.

Indian state with Maximum Boundaries

Despite having the fourth place in terms of area, Uttar Pradesh shares its borders with nine other states and union territories in addition to its international border with Nepal. The states of Uttarakhand and Himachal Pradesh border Uttar Pradesh to the north; Haryana, Delhi, and Rajasthan border it to the west; Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh border it to the south; and Jharkhand and Bihar border it to the east.

The second-largest state in terms of area and population in India is Madhya Pradesh. Bhopal is its capital city. Uttar Pradesh in the northeast, Chhatisgarh in the southeast, Maharashtra in the south, Gujarat in the west, and Rajasthan in the northwest are the five states that share its boundaries. Karnataka is a state in southwest India that borders the Arabian Sea. The state is bordered by four states, i.e. Maharashtra and Goa in the north, Telangana in the east, Tamil Nadu in the south-eastern region, and Kerala in the south. The Arabian Sea borders the state on the west.

The Indian state of Andhra Pradesh is located along the country’s southeast coast. With a coastline of around 974 kilometers, Andhra Pradesh is the second-longest in India after Gujarat. The five states that share the boundary are Telangana in the northwest, Chattisgarh in the north, Odisha in the northeast, Tamil Nadu in the south, and Karnataka in the west. The Bay of Bengal borders the state to the east.


Which Indian state has Maximum border States in India?

Uttar Pradesh in India touches the maximum state boundaries. With Uttarakhand to the north, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, and Delhi to the north-west, Rajasthan to the west, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh to the south, Jharkhand to the south-east, and Bihar to the east, Uttar Pradesh shares a common boundary with nine separate states. It shares a northern international boundary with Nepal, with a total area of 29.4 million hectares.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium