What are the 5 Major Ocean Gyres?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The Five Major Ocean Gyres are the North Atlantic Gyre, South Atlantic Gyre, North Pacific Gyre, South Pacific Gyre, and Indian Ocean Gyre. An Ocean Gyre refers to a large system of circular ocean currents formed by forces caused by Earth’s rotation and global wind patterns.

5 Major Ocean Gyres

A gyre is a circular ocean current. Earth’s wind is the main reason behind the formation of these gyres across the globe.

  • North Pacific Gyre: The major Ocean gyre covers a big part of the ocean. Also, it is the largest ecosystem in the ocean.
  • South Pacific Gyre: One of the famous gyres that travel anti-clockwise because of trade winds.
  • North Atlantic Gyre: It is surrounded by North America, Africa, and Iceland. This gyre has cold and warm ocean gyres.
  • South Atlantic Gyre: Brazil, in the west, faces the most current gyre. Again this gyre has cold and warm currents.
  • Indian Ocean Gyre: A large number of Ocean currents can be found in Indian Ocean Gyre.

How is Ocean Gyre formed?

The formation of ocean gyres takes place in the following ways:

  • The three forces that cause gyre circulation combine to form an ocean gyre.
  • The three forces are the rotation of the Earth, the landmasses of the Earth, and global wind patterns.
  • The wind drags the ocean surface, causing the water to move in the direction of the wind.
  • The rotation of the earth causes changes in the direction of wind-driven currents.
  • The earth’s continents and other landmasses, such as islands, also have an impact on the ocean gyre.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium