What are the 4 Sectors of the Economy?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The 4 Sectors of the Economy are Primary, Secondary, Tertiary, and Quaternary. Economic activities are human actions that can generate revenue. The fourth or quaternary sector of the economy is associated with the cognitive and knowledge-based economy. The extraction of raw materials is the primary sector of the economy, whereas the services industry is the tertiary sector.

Table of content


4 Sectors of Economy

All 4 sectors of the Economy have their specific functions. They play a significant role in contributing to the country’s overall economic growth. The four sectors of the Economy are mentioned below in detail:

  • Primary sector: They rely on the environment and prioritize the use of natural resources such as land, building materials, water, vegetation, and minerals. Hunting, religious activities, fishing, forestry, farming, and mining are all included.
  • Secondary sector: The Secondary sector of the Economy adds importance to raw materials by transforming them into valuable products. They include manufacturing, processing, and construction (infrastructure) industries.
  • Tertiary sector: It includes both production and trade. The sector involves transport, consumption, and communication facilities.
  • Quaternary sector: It is also known as the ‘Knowledge Sector,’ and it is concerned with the consumption of information-based services such as tax consultants, software developers, statisticians, and even mutual fund managers.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium