What are 27 Nakshatras?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 14th, 2023

The 27 Nakshatras are Revati, Uttara Bhadrapada, Purva Bhadrapada, Shatabhishak, Dhanishta, Shravana, Uttara Ashadha, etc. There are 27 Nakshatras as per Hindu astrology listed in Vedanga Jyotish. Nakshatra means lunar mansion or constellation and is considered as the sphere with an ecliptic. All of these Nakshatras possess specific characteristics.

27 Nakshatras

According to Hindu mythology, the constellations are the daughters of Daksha who is married to the Moon, due to which the Moon spends a day with each. Thus there are 27 days in the lunar month.

In Hindu astrology, the constellation system is essential and carries forward the influence of Hellenistic astrology.

List of 27 Nakshatras

The list of 27 Nakshatras along with their essential characteristics is as follows:

  • Revati- Mridu (tender)
  • Uttara Bhadrapada- Sthira (fixed)
  • Purva Bhadrapada- Urga or Krura (fierce)
  • Shatabhishak- Chara (movable)
  • Dhanishta- Chara (movable)
  • Shravana- Chara (movable)
  • Uttara Ashadha- Sthira (fixed)
  • Purva Ashadha- Urga or Krura (fierce)
  • Mula- Tikshna (sharp)
  • Jyeshta- Tikshna (sharp)
  • Anuradha- Mridu (tender)
  • Vishaka- Misra (mixed)
  • Swati- Laghu or Kshipra (swift)
  • Chitra- Mridu (tender)
  • Hasta- Laghu or Kshipra (swift)
  • Uttara Phalguni- Sthira (fixed)
  • Purva Phalguni- Urga or Krura (fierce)
  • Magha- Urga or Krura (fierce)
  • Ashlesha- Tikshna (sharp)
  • Pushya- Laghu or Kshipra (swift)
  • Punarvasu- Chara (movable)
  • Ardra- Tikshna (sharp)
  • Mrigashira- Mridu (tender)
  • Rohini- Sthira (fixed)
  • Krittika- Misra (mixed)
  • Bharani- Urga or Krura (fierce)
  • Ashwini- Laghu or Kshipra (swift)

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium