In How Many Periods can the History of a Country be Divided?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The history of a country can be divided into three significant periods that are Ancient, Medieval, and Modern. With respect to the history of India, it is divided into three major periods of Ancient India, Medieval India, and Modern India. Ancient and Medieval India is considered to be the most famous period in the entire history of India. This is due to the fact that many dynasties, kingdoms, and rulers existed during these two periods.

Division of Periods of History in a Country

In this section, we have discussed Indian history. Just like any other country the period of Indian history is divided into three main periods, which are as follows:

  • Ancient India: This period of Indian history was initially formed by Vedic society. Political organizations proceeded with the concept of Mahajanapada. It also included many famous dynasties like the Mauryas, Guptas, Pallavas, and Cholas. This period of history introduces India’s early agriculture and culture.
  • Medieval India: This period saw the invasion of India by Islamic dynasties. The medieval period of Indian history experienced the domination of the Sultanate and the Mughals. It also led to many good developments in religion, art, and architecture.
  • Modern India: This period mainly talks about India’s struggle for independence from British rule and eventually becoming an independent democratic country.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium