What are the 4 Periods of History?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 14th, 2023

The 4 Periods of History are the Ancient Times, Middle Ages, Early Modern Era, and Modern Era. Historians rely on written accounts and archaeological findings to learn more about human history. Using these resources, they divide human history into four periods.

Table of content


4 Periods of History

We divide the past into various eras. This allows us to analyze historical events and gain a better understanding of global history. Several fields, for example, focus on specific historical periods within different periods. These span geological, cosmological, anthropological, and historical epochs.

Here’s a quick rundown of the four historical eras: Ancient Times, Middle Ages, the Early Modern Era, and the Modern Era:

  • Ancient Times: Ancient history is the period of history that began around 3000 BCE when prehistory gave way to recorded history.
  • Middle Ages: The Medieval or Post-Classical era is another name for the Middle Ages. Due to the lack of historical records following the fall of the Roman Empire in A.D. 476, historians refer to the early portion of this era as the “Dark Ages.”
  • Early Modern Era: The ideas and philosophies of the Classical age experienced a comeback during the Early Modern Era, which soon followed the Middle Ages.
  • Modern Era: The Modern era, sometimes known as the Late Modern age, experienced a technical boom due to the effects of both the Renaissance and the Enlightenment. Wars, revolutions, and the collapse of the monarchy in many nations shook the political globe.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium