How many Railway Zones are there in India 2023?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

There are 16 Railway zones in India, excluding Metro Rail. Indian Railways is one of the largest rail networks in the world, with a network span of 1,23,236 kilometers along with 16 Railway Zones and 68 Divisions. Regarding route kilometers, the northern zone is the largest, and the southern zone is the first to be built on 14 April 1951.

Railway Zones in India

Indian Railways separates its operations into zones, which are then further split into divisions, each with a divisional headquarters. The Indian Railway System has 70 Divisions and 19 Zones, including the Metro Railway, Kolkata. Each division is headed by a Divisional Railway Manager, who reports to the General Manager of the zone.

Certain States have railroad lines under the jurisdictional supervision of more than one Zonal Railway/Division since the boundaries of Zonal and Divisional are determined by operational and administrative requirements rather than by considering State boundaries.

List of Indian Railways Zones and their Headquarters

The Indian Railways Zones and their respective Headquarters are given below:

Railway Zones in India Headquarter
Eastern Railway Kolkata
Central Railway Mumbai
East Central Railway Hajipur
Northern Railway Baroda, New Delhi
East Coast Railway Bhubaneshwar
North Eastern Railway Gorakhpur
North Central Railway Allahabad
North Western Railway Jaipur
North Frontier Railway Maligaon, Guwahati
Southern Railway Chennai
South Eastern Railway Garden Reach, Kolkata
South Central Railway Secunderabad
South Western Railway Hubli
South East Central Railway Bilaspur
West Central Railway Jabalpur
Western Railway Church Gate

The city of Kolkata has the maximum number of Railway Headquarters in the country and some of the oldest. Moreover, the biggest Railway station in the country is the Howrah Junction, located in the state of West Bengal.


How many Railway Zones are there in India 2023?

16 Railway Zones are present in India in 2023. An Indian railway has 1.254 million employees and 7325 stations. The biggest railway zone is the northern zone which covers Haryana, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Jammu and Kashmir, Delhi, and Chandigarh. Furthermore, Kolkata city has the maximum number of railway stations in the country.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium