UGC NET Study Notes On Teaching Aptitude

By Mohit Choudhary|Updated : April 2nd, 2023

UGC NET EXAM consists of Paper-1 and Paper-2. Paper-1 is common for everyone, and paper-2 is subject-specific. Teaching Aptitude is the most important section for Paper 1. One has to cover every topic holistically to clear NET/NET-JRF. In today's post, we are providing study notes on Levels of Teaching for paper 1 for UGC NET EXAM 2023. UGC will soon release the admit card for the exam. Keep studying.


Also, Register For Our Free Workshop - Click Here

Levels of teaching

Levels of teaching has been basically categorized in two, One is given by Bloom and another given by Briggs.

Bloom’s Taxonomy

According to Bloom’s taxonomy, there are three domain of learning.

  1. Cognitive domain- it focuses on knowledge.
  2. Psychomotor Domain- Focuses on skills.
  3. Affective domain- Focuses on Attitude.

Cognitive domain

1. It comprises of six sub-categories, namely

  • Knowledge- recalling information or contents.
  • Comprehension- ability to grasp the meaning of a material.
  • Application- converting abstract knowledge into practice.
  • Analysis- breaking down a communication into its constituent parts.
  • Synthesis- combining the constituent parts into whole
  • Evaluation- Judging the value of methods and materials for particular purposes.

2. Knowledge, comprehension, and application involve low order thinking skills and the other three, analysis, synthesis, and evaluation, involve high order thinking skills.

3. Cognitive domain was revised by Lorin Anderson and David Krathwohl in 2001. The new version involves remembering, Understanding, Applying, Analysing, Evaluating, and creating.

Affective domain

1. It includes the following levels.

  • Receiving- willingness to listen.
  • Responding- willingness to participate.
  • Valuing- willingness to be involved.
  • Organizing- Willingness to be and advocate of an idea.
  • Characterization- willingness to change one’s behaviour or way of life.

2. The domain was proposed by Krathwohl.

3. It is concerned with feelings and emotions, which can be arranged as Receiving, responding, valuing, organization, and characterization.

Psychomotor domain

1. It involves the following different levels

  • Imitation- learner tries to replicate in this.
  • Manipulation- learner tries to experiment by manipulating.
  • Precision- By practising accuracy is improved.
  • Articulation- by practising desired level of effectiveness is achieved.
  • Naturalization- according to requirement skill is internalized.

2. Also called Kinesthetic domain.

3. It relates to natural, autonomic responses or reflexes.

4. There are different models of psychomotor domain. Simpson has included perception, set, Guided response, Mechanism, complex overt response, mechanism, complex overt response, adaptation and organization.

5. Dave used imitation, manipulation, precision, articulation and naturalization.

6. Harrow talks about movements using by using reflexes movements, fundamental movements, perceptual abilities, physical abilities, skilled movements, and non-discursive communication.

Gagne’s nine levels of teaching

  • It is also known as Gagne’s Nine Conditions of learning, Gagne’s nine events of instruction, or Gagne’s taxonomy of learning.
  • Robert Gagne in his book 'the condition of learning' identifies the following mental conditions essential for effective learning

1. Reception

Gain attention of students. Voice modulation, gestures, short introductory video, hand-outs, etc, can be used for this purpose.

2. Expectancy

Inform them about the objectives of what they are about to learn so that their interest will be developed.

3. Retrieval

It relate the new information with the prior knowledge.

4. Selective perception

Present the new information in an effective and easy-to-understand manner using different methods and aids depending on the needs and level of students.

5. Semantic encoding

Help students to learn and retain new information by use of examples, case studies, storytelling, etc.

6. Responding

At this stage, students can demonstrate what they have learnt through question-answer rounds, role-playing, etc.

7. Reinforcements

Provide feedback to students on the basis of their responses and reinforce important points for their clearing doubts and helping in retaining new information.

8. Retrieval

Assess their performance through some tests.

9. Generalizations

Students should apply what they have learnt to new situations and conditions, and then with practice, they will be able to generalize it.

We hope you all understood the terms related to Teaching Aptitude for paper 1 for UGC NET Exam 2023.

Thank you,

Team BYJU'S Exam Prep.


write a comment

Follow us for latest updates