Disaster Management Act 2005

By : Neha Dhyani

Updated : Mar 16, 2022, 12:05

Disaster Management Act 2005 stands firm in reducing dangers, determining the severity of the hazard, promptly undertaking necessary actions, providing rehabilitation and relief to the injured. The act was authorized on 26th December 2005. The act assures the smooth management of forthcoming disasters, helping in implementing maximum steps for the safety of people.

Prime Minister, Mr Narendra Modi, is the chief of the Disaster Management Authority. His foremost duty is to cater to upcoming policies in the Disaster field. Further, he praises the management team for its consistent relief facilities and efforts to liberate people to safe zones.

The Indian Government has a strong resolve to work relentlessly on the National Disaster Management Act (NDMA) focussing on the necessities of the citizens and strategizing plans for fulfilling the demands of the countrymen. Further, their main motive is to stick to the reframed policies and ensure the reduction of any disaster damage.

Functions and Responsibilities

  • Working on the policies of disaster management
  • Implementation and collaboration to execute Disaster Management Policies
  • Organizing funds for reduction
  • Providing assurance and regular help to the majorly stricken countries
  • Working on the approval of plans by the Department of the Government in accordance with the National Plan
  • Relentlessly working on projects to ensure the prevention of disaster
  • Working on necessary measures for disaster prevention, mitigation, or preparedness and capacity building for dealing with threatening disaster situations or disasters
  • Establishing broad policies and guidelines in accordance with the National Institute of Disaster Management

Disaster Management Policy

Disaster Management follows some necessary guidelines and works with perseverance to reach optimized goals:

  • Community-based disaster management, including integration of policy, plans, and execution at the last mile
  • Capacity building in all related areas
  • Compilation of previous initiatives and best practices
  • Cooperation with national, regional, and international agencies
  • Compliance and coordination are required to create a cross-sectoral synergy

Phases of Disaster Management

Disaster Management undergoes four phases:

  • Mitigation: Mitigation ensures proper precautions and proactive measures before a disaster occurs
  • Preparedness: Preparedness refers to hosting emergency training sessions prior to the occurrence of the disaster
  • Response: It is the reaction to the disaster phase. The response can be both short-term and long-term effects
  • Recovery: The stage of recovery is sustaining and prioritization of individual necessities

Disasters are inevitable. It is bound to happen. However, it is important for the government to reduce its risk and reframe policies for a healthy and safe environment such as Disaster Management Act 2005.

More Current Affair Topics
Cyber Crime VolunteerCyber Security
Difference Between Unicameral and BicameralWomen in Indian Army
Population and Associated IssuesIran supercomputer
SAFF Championship Winners ListLargest Port in India
State Flower of IndiaWhitley Awards 2021

FAQS on Disaster Management Act 2005

Q.1. What is the aim of the Disaster Management Act 2005?

  • Avoiding negativity from hazards
  • Providing help and assurances to the victims
  • Working consistently on effective recovery

Q.2. Name the four phases of the Disaster Management Act 2005?

  • Mitigation
  • Preparedness
  • Response
  • Recovery

Q.3. When was the National Institute of Disaster Management Inaugurated? Where is its headquarters?

National Institute of Disaster Management was inaugurated on August 14, 2004, by the Home Minister of India. Its headquarters is in New Delhi.

Q.4. National Disaster Management authority comes under which ministry?

Ministry of Home Affairs works on the National Disaster Management Authority.