Who was the First Indian to Win the Booker Prize?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

Arundhati Roy was the First Indian to Win the Booker Prize. ‘God of Small Things’ book won her a booker prize in 1997. Booker prize is awarded each year for the best novel written in the English language and published in the United Kingdom or Ireland. It is a prestigious British award given annually to a full-length novel in English.

First Indian to win the Booker Prize

Arundhati Roy was awarded the Booker Prize in 1997 for her novel The God of Small Things. She is an Indian author and political activist involved in human rights and environmental causes. She received the Man Booker Prize for Fiction in 1997, and her book became the best-selling book by an Indian author who was not an outsider.

Objective of awarding the Booker Prize

The objective behind awarding the ‘Booker Prize’ is to stimulate the reading and discussion of contemporary fiction. Following are the important details related to the Booker Prize:

  • The prize was named the Booker prize after the company Booker McConnell Pvt Ltd began sponsoring the event in 1969.
  • An advisory committee conducts the selection process for the winner of the prize.
  • It includes a literary agent, a writer, a bookseller, two publishers, a librarian, and a chairperson appointed by the Booker Prize Foundation.
  • The judging panel is selected by the advisory committee.


Who was the First Indian to Win the ‘Booker Prize’?

The first Indian to win the Booker Prize was the author and activist Arundhati Roy. Her first novel ‘God of Small Things’ was also the best-selling book by a non-expat Indian novelist. She started writing the book in 1992 and completed it four years later, in 1996. Since then, Roy has written many critically acclaimed books and has been active as a human rights and environmental activist.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium