What is the First Day of Pongal known as?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The first day of Pongal is known as Bhogi Pongal and is observed as a tribute to Lord Indra. It’s a day when people clean houses and get rid of old possessions to symbolise a new beginning. People dress in new clothes, and homes are festively decorated. The second day, which is known as Surya Pongal, is the main day of Pongal. Pongal is a festival celebrated especially by the farmers to thank Mother Nature and other godly figures to shower them with a good harvest.

First Day of Pongal

Four days are dedicated to the celebration of Pongal, with each day having a unique meaning. Every year, the harvest festival of Pongal is held in the month of January. The Tamil word “Ponga,” which means “to boil,” is the source of the name “Pongal.” The Pongal festival lasts for four days.

Bhogi, or the first day of Pongal, is a festival honouring Lord Indra. Surya Pongal, the second day of Pongal, is dedicated to the Sun God. Mattu Pongal, which honours the cows, is observed on the third and second-to-last day of Pongal.

  • The fourth and final day, which signifies the conclusion of this four-day auspicious journey, is referred to as Kaanum Pongal.
  • The Tamil community observes Pongal as a harvest festival.
  • It’s a time to give thanks to the Sun, Mother Nature, and all the farm animals who helped produce a bumper crop.
  • It usually occurs on January 14 or 15.
  • The dish prepared and consumed during this festival is called Pongal. It is a combination of cooked sweet rice.


What is the First Day of Pongal known as?

In honour of Lord Indra, the first and most important day of the Pongal festival is known as Bhogi. Four days of festivities called Pongal are held to honour the harvest and give thanks to the elements of nature. It generally falls on January 14th or 15th.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium