Teachings of Buddha – Four Noble Truths & Eightfold Noble Path of Buddhism

By Balaji

Updated on: March 13th, 2023

The Teachings of Buddha is all about the eight-fold path to enlightenment, the middle path of the living, and the four noble truths. ‘Buddha’ means “the enlightened one”. When buddha saw the suffering of common people, he let go of his total life. The Teachings of Buddha have helped many people in their path, and they can do the same for you. In this article, we will be covering the Buddha’s philosophy, Teachings of Buddha.

Those who are preparing for the UPSC Exam must have in-depth knowledge of ancient Indian history, and the “Teachings of Buddha” is one of the topics covered in this section. It would help them write essays or any questions asked on the Teachings of Buddha.

Table of content

  • 1. What are the Teachings of Buddha? (more)
  • 2. Universal Truths According to Buddha (more)
  • 3. Four Noble Truths According to Teachings of Buddha (more)
  • 4. Eightfold Path in Buddism: Teachings of Buddha (more)
  • 5. Founder of Buddhism: Gautam Buddha (more)
  • 6. Gautam Buddha UPSC (more)

What are the Teachings of Buddha?

After achieving enlightenment Buddha taught his disciples about suffering, and how they can escape it. The Teachings of Buddha includes the four noble trust, the middle way, and the eightfold noble path. Buddha started sharing his knowledge on the outskirts of Varanasi at a deer park. His four noble truths about life include suffering, the cause of suffering, the end of suffering, and the path to the end of suffering.

Teachings of Buddha UPSC Notes

The eightfold noble path is the path to end suffering, and this eightfold path was introduced by Buddha. As per the Teachings of Buddha’s Noble Eightfold, the path includes the right view, intention, speech, conduct, livelihood, effort, mindfulness, and concentration.

Universal Truths According to Buddha

According to the teachings of Buddha, there are three universal truths:

  • Nothing is lost in the universe- Buddha says, all the things in the universe exist in a cycle. Nothing is ever lost, and matter turns into anger then it again changes back to matter. The universe always returns whatever is lost.
  • Everything Changes- As per the teachings of Buddha, nothing is permanent in the world, and everything changes with time. Life evolves always.
  • Law of Cause and Effect: Buddha said, that karma is based on the law of cause and effect. The condition of someone depends on the deeds, and one has to bear the consequences of his/her own doings.

Four Noble Truths According to Teachings of Buddha

  • The first truth is Suffering (dukkha): All human beings go through pain in some way or other, and humans suffer throughout life. Suffering is inevitable in human life.
  • The second truth is the “Origin of Suffering (Samudya)”: According to Buddha, the main causes of suffering are attachment and desires, The desire for material possessions leads to suffering.
  • The third truth is “Cessation of suffering (Nirodha)”: As per Buddha, one can be free from suffering and attain Nirvana. For this one needs to be free from the desire.
  • The fourth truth is the “Path to the end of suffering (Magga),”: According to the Teaching of Buddha, the noble eightfold path can help one to achieve enlightenment.

Eightfold Path in Buddism: Teachings of Buddha

The eightfold path in Buddism includes:

  • Right View: It means the true perception of noble truths.
  • Right Speech- According to the Teachings of Buddha, one needs to speak consciously, and respect others.
  • Right Intention- One needs to know the difference between right and wrong intention.
  • Right Efforts- One needs to adopt the right habits and abandon the bad habits.
  • Right Concentration: To reach a higher level of consciousness one needs to concentrate properly.
  • Right Mindfulness- According to the Teachings of Buddha one needs to be aware of own’s attitude, feelings, and attitude.
  • Right Action- one shouldn’t criticize others, or take actions that would hurt others.
  • Right Livelihood- Buddha teaches, that one shouldn’t live by harming others or making other people unhappy.

Founder of Buddhism: Gautam Buddha

Gautama Buddha was the founder of Buddhism.

  • Buddha was born in 566 BC, and he was the Prince at Lumbini near Kapilabastu.
  • Buddha lost his mother 7 days after he was born. He was brought up by his maternal aunt, and this gave him the name ‘Gautama’.
  • Buddha got married to Yashodhara and had a son named Rahula.
  • At the age of 29, Buddha left his home to become an ascetic.
  • When Buddha saw four states of men- Sick man, old man, corpse, and ascetic the idea of renunciation occurred to him.
  • For 7 years, Buddha wandered around, and at the age of 35, he attained enlightenment at Uruvela.
  • Buddha gave his first sermon at Sarnath near Varanasi.
  • Buddha died in 482 BC under a sal tree in Kushinagar.

Read: Difference Between Jainism and Buddhism

3 Pillars of Buddism

The three pillars of Buddhism are Buddha, Dhamma, and Sangha. These are also known as Triratnas of Buddism.

  • Buddha- It is the highest spiritual potential in everyone.
  • Dhamma – It is the Teachings of Buddha
  • Sangha- Order of Buddhist Monks

Gautam Buddha UPSC

Candidates preparing for the UPSC Exam must have adequate knowledge about the Teachings of Buddha. It would help them to answer the questions asked related to this topic. That’s why we have covered Gautam Buddha UPSC notes in this article that would help the candidates to gain insights into the teachings of buddha and important facts about Buddha. Candidates can also follow other standard UPSC Books and study materials to learn more about Gautama Buddha.

UPSC Notes
Framing of Indian Constitution Srinivasa Ramanujan
IFS Promotion Chart With Years PCPNDT Act
Retreating Monsoon in India Difference Between State Legislative Assembly and Parliament
Monuments of India Shunga Dynasty
Tamil Nadu Board History Book Constitution of India
Our Apps Playstore
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium