How many Major Rivers flow from East to West in India?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The Major Rivers that flow from East to West in India are Narmada and Tapi rivers (or Tapti). Mahi, Sabarmati, Luni, Tawa, and Sharavati are other significant east-west rivers. Tapi runs in Gujarat, Maharashtra, and Madhya Pradesh, whereas Narmada travels along Gujarat, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, and Maharashtra.

East to West Flowing Rivers in India

The Indian river system is made up of seven major rivers (the Indus, Tapi, Narmada, Brahmaputra, Godavari, Krishna, and Mahanadi) and a large number of tributaries. Narmada and Tapi (Tapti) are the major west-flowing rivers. Let us know in detail about these two major rivers of India.


In Madhya Pradesh, there is a river named Tapti/Tapi. It drains a region of 65,300 square km and has a length of around 700 kilometers overall.

  • Gujarat, Maharashtra, and Madhya Pradesh are the states where the river runs.
  • The three largest projects on this River are the Kakrapar, Ukai, and Girna dams.
  • The principal tributaries of the Tapti River include the Suki, the Goma, the Arunavati, the Vaghur, the Amravati, the Purna, the Mona, and the Sipna.

Narmada River

The Rewa River is another name for the Narmada River. The majority of it is in Madhya Pradesh. The Maikala Range in eastern Madhya Pradesh is where the Narmada rises, at around 1,080 meters.

  • The Narmada River flows westward.
  • Gujarat, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, and Maharashtra are all states that the river traverses.
  • Kolar River, Shakkar River, Dudhi River, Tawa River, and Hiran River are some of the significant tributaries of the Narmada River.
  • Maheshwar Dam, Sardar Sarovar Dam, and Indira Gandhi Sagar Dam are three significant hydroelectric projects in this river.


How many Major Rivers flow from East to West in India?

The two main west-flowing rivers are the Narmada and Tapi (or Tapti). The other critical east-west rivers are the Sharavati, Mahi, Sabarmati, Luni, Tawa, and Mahi. The Indus, Brahmaputra, Narmada, Tapi, Godavari, Krishna, and Mahanadi are the seven major rivers that make up the Indian river system. There are also a large number of tributaries.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium