Name the Group of Islands Lying in the Arabian Sea

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The group of islands lying in the Arabian Sea is the Lakshadweep islands. This group of islands is referred to as an Archipelago. An archipelago, also known as an island group or chain, is a chain, cluster, or collection of islands. It can also refer to a sea that contains a few sparsely spaced islands. There are a total of 38 islands in this island group and they cover an area of almost 78000 sq km of the Arabian Sea.

Group of Islands Lying in Arabian Sea

The Arabian sea is located on the northern side of the Northern Indian Ocean and is bounded by the Gulf of Oman, Pakistan, and Iran. It is the biggest sea in the entire world. The Lakshadweep Islands are a group of islands in the Laccadive Sea area of the Arabian Sea, 200–440 km (120–270 mi) off the southwest coast of India.

  • They were formerly known as the Laccadive, Minicoy, and Aminidivi Islands.
  • The Indian Union Government oversees the archipelago, which is a union territory.
  • A section of the northern Indian Ocean known as the Arabian Sea is bordered on the north by Pakistan, Iran, and the Gulf of Oman.
  • On the west by the Arabian Peninsula, the Guardafui Channel, and the Gulf of Aden, on the southeast by the Laccadive Sea, on the southwest by Somalia, and on the east by India.


Name the Group of Islands Lying in the Arabian Sea

The Lakshadweep islands are a collection of islands located in the Arabian Sea. The archipelago is the term used to describe this collection of islands. An archipelago is a chain, cluster, or collection of islands. It is also referred to as an island group or chain.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium