CSK Players List: CSK IPL Team List, Retained Players

By : Neha Dhyani

Updated : Feb 23, 2022, 9:42

A member franchise of the Indian Premier League (IPL), CSK (Chennai Super Kings) is a strong cricket team from Tamil Nadu.

It was formed in 2008 and is presently the franchise of Chennai Super Kings Cricket Ltd. Its main stakeholder is India Cements. The CSK team holds its home matches at the Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni, a successful IPL captain, leads the CSK team, while the present coach is Stephen Fleming. Under the captainship of Dhoni, the team has managed to reach nine finals and won four.

Super Kings are the current champions, having won the IPL season 21. CSK has become India’s first sports Unicorn in 2022 with a market cap higher than its parent entity. 

The Complete CSK Squad 2021

Chennai Super Kings have decided to retain their captain for the next three seasons. The franchise has also retained Moeen Ali and Ravindra Jadeja, as well as Ruturaj Gaikwad, who played significant roles in winning the 2021 title.

The IPL 2022 will be played in the Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai starting from 2nd April to 3rd June. The Mega Auction held in February has already decided the squad for the IPL teams.

IPL 2021 CSK Team Players:

  • Robin Uthappa
  • Ruturaj Gaikwad
  • Moeen Ali
  • Ravindra Jadeja
  • MS Dhoni
  • Devon Conway
  • Ambati Rayadu
  • Mitch Santner
  • Deepak Chahar
  • KM Asif
  • Chris Jordan
  • Subhranshu Senapati
  • Mahesh Theekshana
  • Tushar Deshpande
  • N Jagadeesan
  • Dwayne Bravo
  • Adam Milne
  • Shivam Dube
  • Dwaine Pretorius
  • Mukesh Choudhary
  • Bhagath Varma
  • Rajvardhan Hangargekar
  • Prashant Solanki

The team is named to give tribute to the rulers of the Tamil empire. The logo of the team consists of the team name in blue with a roaring lion’s head in orange. Its primary colour is yellow with orange and blue stripes on the jersey. The CSK is one of the most expensive franchises with a brand value of over $900 million as of 2021.

The CSK team is known to have the best match victory percentage among all the teams. They also have the highest playoff appearances and final appearances in the IPL. Apart from the IPL seasons, the CSK has come out victorious in the Champions League 20 in 2010 and 2014. Chennai Super Kings has consistently remained a successful team in the IPL as it relies on its core players.

One of the most successful and celebrated franchises in the history of the IPL, the CSK team is at a critical juncture, undergoing substantial changes in its line-up, leadership, and overall approach to the game.

Fans, however, expect the team to continue its similar style of play, with aggression, and domination when it plays its new team in the upcoming IPL season a few months from now.

More Current Affair Topics: 
National Animal of IndiaPegasus Spyware
ICC World Cup Point TableSubho Noboborsho
Suez CanalWorld Cancer Day
World Population DayWorld Sleep Day
World Water DayHow Many Countries are there in the World

FAQs About CSK Players List

  • What is the price of Dhoni in IPL 2022?

For the IPL season 2022, CSK retains M S Dhoni for Rs. 12 crores.

  • How many IPL trophies CSK has won?

The team has won the IPL championship four times in the seasons of 2010, 2011, 2018, and 2021.

  • Who is the most expensive player for IPL 2022?

Ishan Kishan, Indian wicketkeeper-batsman is the most expensive player for the season 2022 at the mega auction where the Mumbai Indians got him for Rs. 15.25 crore.

  • Which players CSK has retained for 2022?

The maximum number of players teams can retain is four for this season. The retained players for CSK are – MS Dhoni, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Moeen Ali, Ravindra Jadeja.