Booker Prize Winners List (2010-2022)

By : Neha Dhyani

Updated : Nov 2, 2022, 10:53

The latest name added to the Booker Prize Winners list is that of the Sri Lankan author Shehan Karunatilaka for her novel, The Seven Moons of Maali Almeida. Before her, Damon Galgut won the prize in 2021. Along with one of the highest literary prizes, Booker Prize Winners get international acclaim, which results in a sales boost for their literary works.

Each year, the Booker Prize Foundation set up a panel of five people, including authors, librarians, literary agents, publishers, and booksellers, to select the winner of the esteemed prize. Know more about the Booker Prize Winners from the past decade here.

Booker Prize Winner 2022

The name of the latest award winner, Shehan Karunatilaka, was added to the list of Booker Prize Winners on 17 October 2022. Born in the city of Galle, Sri Lanka, Karunatilaka published his seventh novel, The Seven Moons of Maali Almeida, with a British publishing house, Sort of Books. A five-person panel elected Karunatilaka's novel as this year's Booker Prize Winner.

Award Name

Booker Prize

Awarded By

Booker Prize Foundation

Awarded For

The best novel of the year

Booker Prize Winner 2022

Shehan Karunatilaka

What is the Booker Prize?

The Booker Prize was formerly called the Booker Prize for fiction from its advent in 1969 till 2001. From 2001-2019, it was called the Man Booker Prize. It is among the highest literary prizes that an author can get. The Booker Prize is awarded to celebrate the finest few of the fiction literature world, published in one calendar year in the United Kingdom or Ireland.

The Booker Prize Winners receive immense acclaim from international publishers and media and prestige and honor in the literary world. It boosts the sales for the author and makes them a familiar name and face on the international front. Booker Prize Winners also get to explore more opportunities in writing.

Booker Prize Winners Selection Process

Each year, a new advisory committee is formed to select the respective year's Booker Prize Winners. This advisory committee consists of two publishers, a literary agent, a bookseller, a librarian, and a writer. Additionally, a chairperson elected by the Booker Prize Foundation heads the committee.

Next, the advisory committee nominates a panel of judges, who are usually leading literary people like writers, critics, academics, etc. This literary panel chooses the 'book of the year' and announces the Booker Prize Winners in an annual formal dinner in October in London's Guildhall.

List of Booker Prize Winners (2010-2022)

Here, you can check out the list of Booker Prize Winners from the previous decade, along with information about the author's name, book title, country of origin of the author, and genre. Find the details of the Booker Prize Winners from the year 2010-2022 below:


Author of the Book


Genre of the Book

Title of the Book


Howard Jacobson

United Kingdom

Comic novel

The Finkler Question


Julian Barnes

United Kingdom


The Sense of an Ending


Hilary Mantel

United Kingdom

Historical novel

Bring Up the Bodies


Eleanor Catton

New Zealand

Historical novel

The Luminaries


Richard Flanagan


Historical novel

The Narrow Road to the Deep North


Marlon James


Historical novel

A Brief History of Seven Killings


Paul Beatty

United States

Satirical novel

The Sellout


George Saunders

United States

Historical novel

Lincoln in the Bardo


Anna Burns

United Kingdom




Margaret Atwood



The Testaments

Bernardine Evaristo

United Kingdom

Experimental novel

Girl, Woman, Other


Douglas Stuart

United Kingdom

United States


Shuggie Bain


Damon Galgut

South Africa


The Promise


Shehan Karunatilaka

Sri Lanka


The Seven Moons of Maali Almeida

Previous Year's Booker Prize Winners

In 2021, Damon Galgut was the Booker Prize winner for his novel, The Promise. He was previously shortlisted for the prize in the year 2003, and 2010. Galgut is a South African novelist and playwright who started his literary career with his debut novel, A Sinless Season in 1982.

This Booker Prize winner's novel, The Promise, follows a modernist narration style, like that of the authors Virginia Woolf, James Joyce, and William Faulkner. His novel received a great reception and was consequently chosen as the Booker Prize Winner 2021.

Important Current Affairs Topics

Bank Holidays in DecemberBank Holidays in India
Bank Holidays in NovemberInternational Astronomy Day
World Vegan DayInternational Civil Aviation Day
International Customs DayInternational Dance Day
World Water DayWorld Wetland Day

FAQs on Booker Prize Winners List

Q1. Who is the Booker Prize Winner 2022?

Shehan Karunatulika, a Sri Lankan author and creative director, won the Booker Prize 2022 for his seventh novel, The Seven Moons of Maali Almeida. His name was added to the Booker Prize Winners List for the best novel of the year.

Q2. Who are the Booker Prize winners from India?

Booker Prize Winners from India include V.S. Naipaul, Anita Desai, Salman Rushdie, Arundhati Roy, Rohinton Mistry, Kiran Desai, Indra Sinha, Arvind Adiga, Amitav Ghosh, and Jeet Thayil. In total, 10 Indian people have won the Booker Prize over the years.

Q3. Who won the Booker Prize the most number of times?

Four authors, Hilary Mantel, Peter Carey, J.M. Coetzee, and J.G Farrell, are all two times Booker Prize Winners. They have won the Booker Prize twice in different years. No author has won the Booker Prize more than two times yet.

Q4. How many total Booker Prize Winners are there?

Since the Booker Prize got established in 1969, 35 men and 18 women have earned the prize till now. Booker Prize winners gain international fame for their literary works. The Booker Prize is considered one of the most prestigious prizes in literature.

Q5. What was the official name of the Booker Prize?

The booker prize was known as the Booker-McConnell prize (1969-2001) and the Man Booker prize (2001-2019) formerly. Now, it is known as simply the Booker Prize. Booker Prize winners are awarded the prize in a formal dinner ceremony in London's Guildhall every October.