How was Indian Constitution Framed

By Naveen Singh|Updated : July 15th, 2022

Political Science is one of the most important topics in General Awareness. Many students find it difficult on how to go about solving questions from this topic. For this one needs to have a thorough knowledge of Polity. To simplify the subject we are have divided the subject into smaller topics and are providing you with the notes for the same. These notes will help you revise effectively. 

We are discussing here Making of the Indian Constitution. This is important because many times questions are asked about the Various sources the constitution was taken and also many questions are asked from the constituent assembly.

Making of the Indian Constitution

  1. It was M.N Roy who proposed the idea of an independent constituent assembly for India in 1934.
  2. The constituent assembly was formed as per the guidelines suggested by the Cabinet Mission Plan, 1946. The mission was headed by Pethick Lawrence and included two other members apart from him – Stafford Cripps and A.V Alexander.
  3. The total strength of the assembly was 389. However, after partition only 299 remained. It was partly elected and partly nominated body.
  4. The elections to form the assembly took place in July-August 1946 and the process was completed by November 1946. The first meeting of the assembly took place on 9th December 1946 and was attended by 211 members.
  5. Dr. Sachhidanand Sinha became the temporary President of the assembly following the French practice.
  6. On 11th December 1946, Dr. Rajendra Prasad and H.C Mukherji were elected as President and Vice-President respectively.
  7. Sir B.N Rau was appointed as the constitutional advisor to the assembly.
  8. On 13th December 1946, Pt. Nehru moved the Objectives resolution which later went on to become the Preamble of the constitution in slightly modified form. The resolution was unanimously adopted on 22nd January 1947.
  9. The Constituent Assembly ratified India’s membership of the commonwealth in May 1949. Also, it adopted the National Song and National Anthem on 24th January 1950. Adopted the National Flag on 22nd July 1947.
  10. The assembly met for 11 sessions, took 2 years, 11 months and 18 days to frame up the final draft, sat for 141 days in total and the draft constitution was considered for 114 days. Total amount incurred was around rupees 64 lakhs.
  11. The assembly had 15 women members which were reduced to 9 after partition.
  12. Some important committees of the constituent assembly along with their respective chairpersons are as follows:
  • Union Powers Committee - Jawahar Lal Nehru
  • Union Constitution Committee - Jawahar Lal Nehru
  • Provincial Constitution Committee - Sardar Patel
  • Drafting Committee - B.R Ambedkar
  • Rules of Procedure Committee - Dr. Rajendra Prasad
  • Steering Committee - Dr. Rajendra Prasad
  • Flag Committee - J.B. Kripalani
  1. The following were the members of the Drafting Committee-
  • Dr. B.R Ambedkar (Chairman)
  • Alladi Krishnaswamy Ayyar
  • Dr. K.M Munshi
  • N. Gopalaswamy Ayyangar
  • Syed Mohammad Saadullah
  • N Madhava Rau
  • TT Krishnamachari
  1. The final draft of the constitution was adopted on 26th November 1949 and it contained 8 schedules, 22 parts, and 395 articles.

We brings you an special class by Akash Randev Sir on 'Sources of Indian Constitution' this class will help you in the upcoming defence exams. 




Features Taken
The Government of India Act of 1935Parliamentary government, Rule of Law, legislative procedure, single citizenship, cabinet system, prerogative writs, parliamentary privileges, and bicameralism
British ConstitutionFederal Scheme, Office of the governor, Judiciary, Public Service Commissions, Emergency provisions and administrative details
US ConstitutionFundamental rights, independence of the judiciary, judicial review, impeachment of the president, removal of Supreme Court and high court judges and post of vice-president
Irish ConstitutionDirective Principles of State Policy, the nomination of members to Rajya Sabha and method of election of the president
Canadian ConstitutionFederation with a strong Centre, vesting of residuary powers in the Centre, the appointment of state governors by the Centre, and advisory jurisdiction of the Supreme Court
Australian ConstitutionConcurrent List, freedom of trade, commerce and intercourse, and the joint sitting of the two Houses of Parliament
Weimar Constitution of GermanySuspension of Fundamental Rights during Emergency
Soviet Constitution (USSR, now Russia)Fundamental duties and the idea of justice (social, economic and political) in the Preamble
French ConstitutionRepublic and the ideals of liberty, equality, and fraternity in the Preamble
South African ConstitutionProcedure for amendment of the Constitution and election of members of Rajya Sabha
Japanese ConstitutionThe procedure established by Law


Here are some Important Questions that were previously asked in the exam:

1. The Constituent Assembly was set up on ____?

A. 6thDec 1946
B. 15thAugust 1945 
C. 26th January 1950 
D. None of these 

2. Constituent Assembly adopted the Constitution on

A. 15th August 1947 
B. 26th November 1949
C. 26th January 1950
D. 30th January 1948

3.Constituent assembly that framed constitution was set up under:

A. Government of India act 1935 
B. India Independence act 1947 
C. Cabinet mission plan 
D. Cripps mission proposal 

4. Who was the president of the Constituent Assembly?

A. B.N. Rau 
B. Rajendra Prasad 
C. Sachchidanand Sinha 
D. Jawaharlal Nehru 

5. How many members were elected in the Constituent Assembly?

A. 292 
B. 296 
C. 300 
D. None of these 

6. Who presented the Objectives Resolution in the Constituent Assembly?

A. B.R Ambedkar
B. Mahatma Gandhi 
C. Jawahar Lal Nehru
D. Vallabhai Patel

7. The Chairman on the functions of the Constituent Assembly was?

A. B.R Ambedkar 
B. Jawaharlal Nehru 
C. Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel 
D. G.V. Mavalankar 

8. The Constitutional advisor to the Constituent Assembly was

A. Sachidanand Sinha
B. K.M. Munshi 
C. B.N. Rao
D. T.T. Krishnamachari 

9. Consider the following statements regarding the Constituent Assembly: 
1) The Constituent Assembly comprised of 292 members from provinces and 93 members from the Princely States. 
2) The idea of Constituent Assembly was first time mooted by Jawahar Lal Nehru. 
3) The Constituent Assembly had eight major Committees on different subjects. 
Which of the above options are correct:

A. 1 only
B. 2 and 3 only 
C. 1 and 3 only 
D. 1, 2 and 3 

10. The symbol of the Constituent Assembly of India was

A. Lion 
B. Tiger 
C. Elephant 
D. None of these 

11. Indian constitution substantially borrows from:

A. British constitution 
B. The government of India act 1935 
C. American Constitution 
D. Indian council act 1909

12.‘The freedom of trade and commerce within the country and between the states in Indian constitution’ is influenced by which of the following country’s constitution?

A. French Constitution 
B. Canadian Constitution 
C. Australian Constitution 
D. Constitution of Soviet Union 

13. In the Indian Constitution, the idea of the Comptroller and Auditor General's office has been taken from_______

A. Canadian Constitution 
B. American Constitution 
C. British Constitution 
D. Japanese Constitution 

14.The A quasi-federal form of government of Indian Constitution are borrowed from the __________ constitution.

A. Irish
B. United States 
C. British
D. Canadian 

15. Directive Principles of State Policy in the Indian Constitution were taken from the Constitution of

A. Britain
B. Ireland
D. Canada

Making of the Indian Constitution (English PDF)

More from us:

Important Study Notes for Defence Exams

Defence Specific Notes

Weekly Current Affairs

Current Affairs Quiz

SSB Interview Tips



write a comment

Follow us for latest updates