List of Current Chief Ministers of India 2021: State-wise Chief Minister & Party Name

By Rajat Pandey|Updated : December 6th, 2021

Chief Ministers of India 2021: In India, the chief minister is known as the head of government of an individual State. As we know India has 28 states and 8 union territories. Each state and Union territory has its own Chief Minister who is responsible for conducting the rules in state government.

In continuation of articles on Static Awareness, we bring to you this article consisting of names of the current Chief Ministers of India.

List of Chief Ministers of Indian States 2021

StateChief MinisterTook OfficeParty
Andhra PradeshShri YS Jagan Mohan Reddy30/05/2019YSR Congress Party
Arunachal PradeshShri Pema Khandu17/06/2016Bharatiya Janata Party
AssamShri Himanta Biswa Sarma


Bharatiya Janata Party
BiharShri Nitish Kumar20/11/2015Coalition Government
ChhattisgarhShri Bhupesh Baghel17/12/2018Indian National Congress
Delhi (NCT)Shri Arvind Kejriwal14/02/2015Aam Aadmi Party
GoaShri Pramod Sawant19/03/2019Bharatiya Janata Party
GujaratShri Vijaybhai R. Rupani07/08/2016Bharatiya Janata Party
HaryanaShri Manohar Lal26/10/2014Bharatiya Janata Party
Himachal PradeshShri Jairam Thakur27/12/2017Bharatiya Janata Party
JharkhandShri Hemant Soren29/12/2019Jharkhand Mukti Morcha
KarnatakaSri Basavaraj Bommai28/07/2021Bharatiya Janata Party
KeralaShri Pinarayi Vijayan25/05/2016Communist Party of India (Marxist)
Madhya PradeshShri Shivraj Singh Chouhan23/03/2020

Bharatiya Janata Party

MaharashtraShri Uddhav Thackeray28/11/2019Maha Vikas Aghadi (Coalition Government)
ManipurShri N. Biren Singh15/03/2017Bharatiya Janata Party
MeghalayaShri Conrad Kongkal Sangma06/03/2018National People's Party
MizoramShri Pu Zoramthanga15/12/2018Mizo National Front
NagalandShri Neiphiu Rio08/03/2018

Democratic Alliance of Nagaland (Coalition)

OdishaShri Naveen Patnaik05/03/2000Biju Janata Dal
Puducherry (UT)Shri. N. Rangaswamy07/05/2021 All India NR Congress (AINRC)
PunjabShri Capt. Amarinder Singh16/03/2017Indian National Congress
RajasthanShri Ashok Gehlot17/12/2018Indian National Congress
SikkimShri PS Golay (Prem Singh Tamang)27/05/2019Sikkim Krantikari Morcha
Tamil NaduShri M. K. Stalin07/05/2021Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK)
TelanganaShri K Chandrasekhar Rao02/06/2014Telangana Rashtra Samithi
TripuraShri Biplab Kumar Deb09/03/2018Bharatiya Janata Party
Uttar PradeshShri Yogi Aditya Nath19/03/2017Bharatiya Janata Party
UttarakhandPushkar Singh Dhami03/07/2021Bharatiya Janata Party
West BengalKm. Mamata Banerjee20/05/2011All India Trinamool Congress

Interesting facts about Indian Chief Ministers

1. Current Chief Minister of Rajasthan Ashok Gehlot was elected five times to the Lok Sabha from Jodhpur, he steadily acquired political stature under late Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi. He was a Minister under Prime Ministers Indira Gandhi, Rajiv Gandhi and P.V. Narasimha Rao.

2. Incumbent CM of Telangana K. Chandrasekhar Rao is also the first chief minister of the state. He assumed office on 2nd June 2014, the same day on which Telangana gained statehood.

3. The title of the longest-serving chief minister in India is held former CM of Sikkim Pawan Kumar Chambling with a term length of 24 years and 165 days. He is also the founder of the Sikkim Democratic Front.

4. Chief Minister of Odisha Naveen Patnayak is India's longest-serving chief minister (Incumbent) with more than 20 years of service. He was first elected on the 5th March 2000 as the CM, since then he has been in the power in Odisha.

5. The father of the chief minister of Punjab Captain Amarinder Singh is the last Maharaja of the princely state of Patiala.

6. Sucheta Kriplani of the Indian National Congress was the first woman Chief Minister of India. She was the CM of Uttar Pradesh from 1963 to 1967.

7. Syeda Anwara Taimur who was the Chief Minister of Assam, from December 1980 to June 1981 was the first Muslim woman to become the CM of any state of India.

8. Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh Yogi Adityanath's original name was Ajay Singh Bisht. He has done BSc in Maths from HNB Garhwal University. He was the MP from the Gorakhpur constituency five times in a row.

9. Present CM of Union Territory Delhi and the founder of the Aam Aadmi Party Arvind Kejriwal was awarded Ramon Magsaysay Award, 2006 for his contribution to India's right-to-information movement and empowering poor citizens to fight corruption.

10. Mamata Banerjee, the present CM of West Bengal and the TMC supremo, is the only leader who could oust the 34 years of Left Front rule in the state. She remains, to this day, one of the consistent critics of the Left Front.

Facilities availed by the Chief Ministers of India

  • Chief Ministers of India are entitled to many facilities such as medical and residential facilities, reimbursement of various recurring bills such as electricity, water, and phone, etc. The amount allotted for each of these facilities to the Chief Minister varies from one state to another, as these are specifically detailed in the respective state legislatures of the country.
  • Medical facilities: Chief Ministers are entitled to avail free services such as medical treatment, therapy, accommodation in all the government-run hospitals as well as in referral hospitals approved by the government.
  • Residence facilities: Every Chief Minister of India is provided with a furnished and rent-free residence. If any CM prefers to stay in his own house, then an amount equal to the rent is paid.
  • Reimbursement of electricity and phone charges: The Chief Minister is entitled to a fixed amount of money as reimbursement against phone call charges made in a month. A fixed quantity of electricity units is allotted free of cost to the Chief Minister, for the monthly consumption of electricity.
  • Traveling facilities: The Chief Minister is allotted a fixed amount of money for his or her travel expenses within the jurisdiction of the country, in a year. This amount also varies, as outlined in Article 164 of the Indian Constitution. The Chief Minister’s family members are also entitled to a certain amount for free traveling in a year.

This was all about the Chief Ministers of various states of India. Stay tuned with us for more interesting and informative articles like this. Please upvote the post if you liked it and also share it with your friends.  


Enroll for the #1 BBA & IPM and also HM online course & video lectures here!
BBA & IPM and HM Course 2022

Start Free Trial Now
Download the BYJU’S Exam Prep App Now. 
The most comprehensive exam prep app. 


write a comment



Follow us for latest updates