Kudankulam Nuclear Power Plant -Unit 6 Construction Started

By Rajat Pandey|Updated : January 3rd, 2022
  • On December 20 the Construction of Unit 6 of the Kudankulam Nuclear Power Plant (KKNPP) in Tamil Nadu has been formally launched by pouring the first concrete in the foundation slab of the reactor building, according to Rosatam State Corporation of Russia.
  • Russia started construction of fifth nuclear power unit at Kudankulam in Tamil Nadu on June 29, 2021.

About Kudankulam Nuclear Power Plant (KKNPP)

  • This nuclear power plant is the largest nuclear power of India. It is located in Kudankulam town in Tirunelveli district of Tamil Nadu. Construction of the plant started on March 31, 2002. However, it faced several delays because of opposition from local fishermen.
  • KKNPP is scheduled to have six VVER-1000 reactors. All these reactors have been built or is being built in collaboration with Russian state company and Nuclear Power Corporation of India Limited (NPCIL). Reactors have the installed capacity of 6,000 MW of electricity.
  • Unit one was made operation and synchronized with southern power grid in October 2013. It has been generating electricity up to 1,000 MW. Unit two was synchronized with electricity grid on August 29, 2016. Units three & four was inaugurated on February 17, 2016.
  • Presently, India has 22 nuclear power reactors operating in 7 states, with an installed capacity of 6780 MegaWatt electric (MWe).
  • 18 reactors are Pressurised Heavy Water Reactors (PHWRs) and 4 are Light Water Reactors (LWRs).
  • Nuclear Power Corporation of India Limited -NPCIL based in Mumbai is a government-owned corporation of India that is responsible for the generation of electricity through nuclear power. NPCIL is administered by the Department of Atomic Energy, Government of India.

Nuclear Power Plants in India – Operational

Name Of Nuclear Power StationLocationOperatorCapacity
Kakrapar Atomic Power Station – 1993GujaratNPCIL440
(Kalpakkam) Madras Atomic Power Station – 1984Tamil NaduNPCIL440
Narora Atomic Power Station- 1991Uttar PradeshNPCIL440
Kaiga Nuclear Power Plant -2000KarnatakaNPCIL880
Rajasthan Atomic Power Station – 1973RajasthanNPCIL1,180
Tarapur Atomic Power Station – 1969MaharashtraNPCIL1,400
Kudankulam Nuclear Power Plant – 2013Tamil NaduNPCIL2,000

                           The list below highlights the Nuclear Power Plants in India that are planned to be constructed.      

Name Of Nuclear Power StationLocationCapacity
MadrasTamil Nadu1,200
ChutkaMadhya Pradesh1,400
BhimpurMadhya Pradesh2,800
Mahi BanswaraRajasthan2,800
HaripurWest Bengal4,000
Mithi Virdi (Viradi)Gujarat6,000
KovvadaAndhra Pradesh6,600


Enroll for the #1 BBA & IPM and also HM online course & video lectures here!
BBA & IPM and HM Course 2022

Start Free Trial Now
Download the BYJU’S Exam Prep App Now. 
The most comprehensive exam prep app. 


write a comment



Follow us for latest updates