List of Important Sports Cups and Trophies

By : Neha Dhyani

Updated : Jun 16, 2022, 11:02

Sports Cups and Trophies symbolize outstanding achievement in athletics and have been awarded for centuries to deserving candidates. A trophy is tangible proof of prowess in a particular sport, game, or event and is given alongside medals or rings to the best performers.

Important Sports Cups and Trophies in India

Ranji Trophy: The Ranji Trophy is an Indian championship played between different regional teams and state cricket associations. Currently, 38 teams compete for the Ranji trophy, with all 28 states and four union territories being represented by at least one team. The championship is named after Ranjitsinhji, the first Indian cricketer who played international cricket. 

Ezra Cup: The Ezra Cup is an annual Polo tournament in India that is conducted by the Calcutta Polo Club. The first Ezra Cup was conducted in 1880 and was revived in 2006 after a decade of inactivity.

Durand Cup: The Durand Football Tournament is an annual Indian football competition hosted by the Durand Football Tournament Society. The winning team is awarded three trophies: the Durand Cup, the President's Cup, and the Shimla Trophy.

Dhyanchand Trophy: The Dhyan Chand Award is India's highest sports award for lifetime achievement in sports and games. The Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports sets up a committee that annually selects a recipient based on outstanding performance in sports over a period of four years. The award's first recipient was Chess Grandmaster Vishwanathan Anand, and the youngest recipient was sports shooter Abhinav Bindra.

Important UPSC Topics
UPSC Exam PatternIAS Age Limit
UPSC BooksUPSC Syllabus in Hindi
UPSC Admit CardUPSC Prelims
IAS SyllabusUPSC Question Paper
UPSC Cut OffUPSC Mains

International Sports Cups and Trophies

Wimbledon Trophy: The Wimbledon Trophy is awarded during the Championships, Wimbledon, the oldest tennis tournament in the world. Wimbledon is one of four Grand Slam Tournaments, including the Australian Open, the French Open, and the US Open.

FIFA World Cup: The FIFA World Cup is an international football tournament contested by senior men's national teams of the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA), the sport's global governing body. The championship is awarded every four years.

☛ Also Read: Current Affairs Today

Stanely Cup: The Stanley Cup is the championship trophy awarded annually to the National Hockey League (NHL) playoff champion. The trophy is the oldest existing trophy to be awarded to a professional sports franchise in North America.

India has a thousand-year-old sporting history, with ancient Indian texts acknowledging the presence of sports like archery, wrestling, swordsmanship, and boxing. India is also a robust participant in international sporting events such as the Olympics and participated in the Summer Olympics for the first time in 1990.

More Current Affairs Topics
National Mathematics DayNational Sports Day
National Youth DayWhat is IPO
National Education DayLongest Bridge in India
Largest Solar Power PlantNational Dengue Day
National Engineers DayNational Small Industry Day

FAQs about Sports Cups and Trophies

Q.1 What is India's lifetime achievement sports trophy?

The Dhyan Chand Award officially referred to as the Major Dhyan Chand Award for Lifetime Achievement in Sports and Games, is India's lifetime achievement sporting honour awarded annually by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports to people who have made significant contributions to sports both during their active sporting career and after retirement. 

Q.2 Which is the smallest sports trophy in the world?

The Ashes urn is the smallest trophy in the world and is one of cricket's biggest prizes.

Q.3 Which is the oldest sporting trophy?

America's Cup is the oldest international sporting trophy and is awarded in sailing.

Q.4 What are the most prestigious sports trophies in the world?

Some of the world's most prestigious sports trophies include the FIFA World Cup, European Champion's Club, The Stanley Cup, Larry O'Brien Championship Trophy, Wimbledon Championship Trophy, and America's Cup.