Political Structure of Madhya Pradesh

By Trupti Thool|Updated : June 30th, 2023

This article is about the Political Structure of Madhya Pradesh. This article will help students to achieve more marks in various state exams like MPPSC, MP Vyapam, MP Jail Prahari, MP Police, etc. There will be 4-5 questions could be asked related to Political Structure of Madhya Pradesh. There are some related facts that are important for upcoming MP State Exams.


Political Structure of Madhya Pradesh

State Legislature 

  • The Indian Constitution made provisions for State Legislature under Articles 168-177.
  • The Legislative Assembly in Madhya Pradesh was constituted in 1957 after the state creation in 1956.
  • At that time, 288 seats were there in which 43 seats were reserved for Scheduled Castes and 54 seats were reserved for Scheduled Tribes.
  • After the creation of Chhattisgarh in 2000, the assembly seats got revised to 143 in which 35 seats and 47 seats got reserved for Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes respectively.
  • There are 230 seats in the MP legislative assembly at present.
  • Tenure- 5 years
  • The Madhya Pradesh State Legislature is divided into two parts
    • State Legislative Assembly
    • Governor

Vidhan Sabha Hall

  • Situated in Bhopal
  • Constructed in 1984 and inaugurated by Shankar Dayal Sharma.
  • It is named as Indira Gandhi Vidhan Sabha Bhavan.
  • Architect- Charles Koriya
  • Awarded with Aga Khan Award for its beautiful architecture.

President Rule in Madhya Pradesh

  • 1977- 30th April to 26th June
  • 1980- 18th February to 08th June
  • 1992- 16th December to 6 December, 1993



  • Under Article 153, there will be a Governor for a state.
  • He/she is the constitutional head of the state.
  • 7th Constitutional Amendment Act, 1956 also made provision that there will be one Governor for two or more states.
  • Article 155- Appointment of Governor by the President
  • Article 155 (a)- Term of 5 years for Governor.
  • He/she is administered the oath of office by the Chief Justice of High Court.
  • He/she draws their salary from Consolidated Fund of India.
  • Powers of Governor-
    • Executive
    • Legislative
    • Financial
    • Judicial
    • Discretionary
  • First Governor of Madhya Pradesh- B. Pattabhi Sitaramaiya
  • Current Governor of Madhya Pradesh- Mangubhai C. Patel.
  • First Lady governor of Madhya Pradesh- Sarla Grewal.


  • The provision of Speaker is in article 178 of Indian constitution.
  • He is elected amongst the members of the Legislative Assembly.
  • First Speaker- Pandit Kunjilal Dubey (longest serving speaker)
  • First Deputy Speaker-Vishnu Vinayak Sarvate (longest serving deputy speaker)
  • First Protem Speaker- Kashi Prasad Pandey.
  • Present Speaker- Girish Gautam

 Chief Minister and Council of Ministers

  • Article 163- There will be a Council of Ministers to help and aid the Governor.
  • State Council of Ministers are divided into three categories
    • Cabinet Minister (member of Cabinet),
    • State Minister
    • State Minister (Independent Charge)
  • Tenure- 5 years
  • If President rule was imposed in the state under Article 356, then the cabinet got suspended.
  • First Chief Minister- Ravi Shankar Shukla
  • First Lady Chief Minister- Uma Bharti
  • CM of lowest tenure- Arjun Singh (1 day) and Raja Naresh Chandra Singh (13 days)
    • Raja Naresh Chandra Singh is the first tribal chief minister of state.
    • Present Chief Minister- Shivraj Singh Chauhan

 Leader of Opposition

  • First Leader of Opposition- Vishwanath Yadavrao Tamaskar
  • First lady Leader of Opposition- Jamuna Devi
  • Present Leader of Opposition- Kamal Nath

 Judiciary in Madhya Pradesh

  • Establishment date of MP High court- 1Nov 1956
  • Principal Bench of Madhya Pradesh high court- Jabalpur
  • Circuit benches of MP High court located at Indore and Gwalior
  • Proposed bench of MP High Court- Bhopal
  • The building of the Principal bench constructed by Raja Gokuldas and Henry Irwin is the architect.
  • Total number of judges- 53
  • First Chief Justice- M. Hidayatullah (11th Chief Justice)
  • First Lady Chief Justice- Sarojini Saxena
  • Present Chief Judge of MP High court- Ravi Malimath

 Administrative Structure of Madhya Pradesh

  • First Chief Secretary- H. S. Kamath
  • Present Chief Secretary- Sh. Iqbal Singh Bais
  • Madhya Pradesh is divided into 10 divisions, 52 districts, 313 development sections and 377 tehsils.

 Madhya Pradesh Police Administration

  • The Madhya Pradesh police is headed by the Director General of Police (DGP) who is an IPS officer.
  • He administers the five police ranges- Gwalior, Indore, Rewa, Jabalpur and Raipur.
  • Police Headquarters- Bhopal
  • Railway Police Force headquarters is located in Bhopal, which is divided into three police sections- Bhopal, Indore and Jabalpur.
  • First DGP- B.P. Dubey
  • First Lady DGP- Asha Gopalan
  • Present DGP- SHRI Vivek Johari
  • The State Crime Bureau was established in 1983 and its headquarters are located in Bhopal.
  • First Metro Station of Madhya Pradesh- Habibganj
  • First ISO certified Police Station- Dewas
  • Cyber Forensic Lab- Bhopal
  • Cyber Police Headquarters- Bhopal
  • Police Band School- Bhopal

 Panchayati Raj in Madhya Pradesh

  • 73rd Constitutional Amendment, 1992 provides constitutional status to Rural bodies. Madhya Pradesh is the first state that followed the 73rd amendment of Constitution.
  • The three-tier system in Madhya Pradesh.
    • Zila Panchayat- in more than 50000 population
    • Janpad Panchayat- in more than 5000 population
    • Gram Panchayat- in more than 1000 population
  • First Gram Nyayalaya- Neemuch
  • First Gram Panchayat- Jhatla
  • After Bihar, Madhya Pradesh is the second state in India to provide 50 percent reservation to women.

 Urban Local Self Government in Madhya Pradesh

  • 74th Constitutional Amendment, 1992 provides constitutional status to Urban bodies.
    • Madhya Pradesh is the first state in India who adopted this provision.
  • Three-tier system
    • Municipality- in more than 1 lakh population
    • Nagar Palika- in more than 50 thousand population
    • Nagar Parishad- in more than 20 thousand population
  • The mayors are directly elected by the people, while deputy mayors are chosen by the mayors.
  • First Nagar Palika of Madhya Pradesh- Jabalpur (1864)
  • First Nagar Palika of Madhya Pradesh (in independent India)- Datiya (1983)
  • First transgender Mayor- Kamla Jaan (Katni Municipality). 

Political Structure of Madhya Pradesh Download PDF In English

Political Structure of Madhya Pradesh Download PDF In Hindi

More from us: 

MPPSC के लिए Complete Free Study Notes, अभी Download करें

Download Free PDFs of Daily, Weekly & Monthly करेंट अफेयर्स in Hindi & English

NCERT Books तथा उनकी Summary की PDFs अब Free में Download करें 


write a comment

Follow us for latest updates