Indian Flag Code: Check History of Indian Flag Code

By : Neha Dhyani

Updated : Apr 29, 2022, 14:27

History reveals that the display of the national flag was governed by the Provision of The Emblems and Names Act, 1950. In 2002 an attempt to introduce a set of laws and pacts, combining practices and directives in the Indian Flag Code, introduced for a free display of the tricolour with merited honour and dignity, which fills the hearts with tears of patriotism.

Different Categories of the Indian Flag Code

The Indian flag is the epitome of the hopes and aspirations of Indians, and it is undoubtedly the most prized national symbol. Every Indian has the fundamental right to fly the tricolour freely, but the Indian Flag Code sets a standard governing the use of the flag. The three parts of the Indian Flag Code are:

Part I

  • This part of the code deals with the detailed description of our national flag's physical aspect and appearance. It carries the following details:
  • The Indian flag code describes our flag's three colour bands, the saffron on the top, white in the middle and green at the bottom.
  • The dark blue Ashok Chakra in the centre has 24 spokes.
  • Normally, hand-spun cotton, silk, or khadi make a standard flag.

Part II

  • This part of the code deals with the actual display code and proper guidelines and instructions for storage and disposal of the flag in a civilian context like:
  • Indian flag code indicates distinctly placing the flag in a position of honour.
  • The flag should be hoisted and lowered unhurriedly.
  • With the saffron band always on top and occupying the position of honour, the flag shouldn't be placed in an inverted position, meaning saffron side down.
  • A damaged or dishevelled flag should never be displayed or dipped on any occasion and should never touch the ground.
  • It should not be used for advertisement or commercial purposes.

Check Important Days and Holidays of 2022

Part III

  • This section of the Indian flag code relates to the display of the national flag by central and state governments and their counterparts.
  • The flag can be used in funerals only in the case of armed forces personnel or other dignitaries and should be flown at half-mast in the mourning period.
  • The flag should be displayed at all official residences like the president, prime minister, governor, and other dignitaries and atop high court, secretariats, and other public sector undertakings.
  • It can never be used as a festoon or a decorative item.
  • When carried in a parade, it should either be in front or towards the right of the file that is marching forward.
  • In case of any national loss or mourning, the flag should be hoisted at half-mast.
Important UPSC Topics
UPSC ExamUPSC Exam Date
UPSC NotificationUPSC Eligibility
UPSC Online ApplicationUPSC Exam Pattern
IAS ExamUPSC Previous Year Question Papers
UPSC Cut OffUPSC Preparation Strategy
UPSC BooksUPSC Exam Analysis
UPSC Admit CardIAS Salary

FAQs on the Indian Flag Code

Q1. What is the Indian flag code 2002?

Answer: The Indian flag code sets standards governing the use of the Indian flag with dignity.

Q2. How many sections are there in the Indian flag code?

Answer: There are three sections in the Indian flag code.

Q3. According to the Indian flag code, what rules should be followed while displaying the Indian flag in public?

Answer: Indian flag code indicates distinctly placing the flag in a position of honour. It should be hoisted slowly.

Q4. What does section I of the Indian flag code reveal?

Answer: The Indian flag code displays the dimensions and physical appearance of the flag.

Q5. What does the Indian flag code reveal about the display of flags in cars?

Answer: Onlydignitaries like the president, prime minister and others can use flags in their cars.