BSF DG: Check List of the DG of BSF

By : Neha Dhyani

Updated : Jan 24, 2022, 5:58

Who is the Present Director-General of Border Security Force?

The present DG of BSF or the Director-General of the Border Security Force is Pankaj Kumar Singh. An IPS officer of the 1988 batch of the Rajasthan cadre, Pankaj Kumar Singh was appointed as the present BSF DG on 1st September 2021. He is the 29th DG of the BSF, the world's largest border guarding force securing India from its neighbouring countries of Pakistan and Bangladesh. 

Pankaj Kumar Singh took over the charge as the BSF DG from SS Deswal, an IPS officer from the 1984 batch. As the Border Security Force Director-General, he is currently based out of the BSF Head Quarters in New Delhi. 

The first-ever Director-General of BSF was KF Rustamji, IPS, who held the position from 22nd July 1965 to 30th September 1972. 

List of the Last 10 DG of BSF of India

As said earlier, Pankaj Kumar Singh is the 29th BSF DG serving the nation. Here's the BSF DG list comprising of the names of the last 10 Director-Generals that served the Border Security Force - 

Sr. No.

Names of the BSF DG

Start Date of Tenure

End Date of Tenure


Pankaj Kumar Singh

1st September 2021



Surjeet Singh Deswal

28th July 2021

31st August 2021


Rakesh Asthana

18th August 2020

28th July 2021


Surjeet Singh Deswal

11th March 2020

17th August 2020


VK Johri

1st September 2019

10th March 2020


Rajni Kant Mishra

1st October 2018

31st August 2019


KK Sharma

1st March 2016

30th September 2018


DK Pathak

8th March 2014

29th February 2016


Subhash Joshi

19th December 2012

28th February 2014


UK Bansal

1st November 2011

30th November 2012

Pankaj Kumar Singh - The Current BSG DG

Born to former BSF DG Prakash Singh, Pankaj Kumar Singh is a 1988-batch Indian Police Service (IPS) officer. He is currently serving his tenure as the 29th DG of the BSF. 

IPS Pankaj Kumar Singh has a BSc (Hons) degree in Physics from the prestigious Hindu College, Delhi University. After graduating, he completed his MPhil from Chennai University and an LL.B from Delhi University before gaining a PG Diploma in Business Administration from the prestigious IIM, Ahmedabad. 

Singh has proven himself as a competitive IPS officer and has been decorated with many commendations and DG's Discs. Singh was awarded the President's Police Medal for Distinguished Service, the UN Peace Medal (Bar), and the Police Medal for Meritorious Service, among other honoured commendations.

What is the Border Security Force?

The Border Security Force, also known as BSF, is among the five Central Armed Police Force of India and is the border guarding organization along India's international borders with Pakistan and Bangladesh. The BSF is often regarded as India's "First Line of Defence" and the world's largest border security force. 

Over the years, from 1965, the BSF has grown exponentially - from having 25 battalions to 192 battalions, including a Marine wing, an Airwing, an Artillery regiment, and numerous specialized forces. The BSF comes under the ambit of the Ministry of Home Affairs.

Interestingly, although BSF has its own officers, its head - the Director-General - has always been an IPS officer.

More Current Affair Topics:
Hornbill FestivalIndian Postal Day
National Reading DayNCC Day
White Label ATMCoal Miner's Day
Ease of Living IndexGoldman Environmental Prize
CRI IndexAdidas Brand Ambassador India

FAQs about BSF DG

  • What is the full form of BSF DG?

The full form of BSF DG is the Director-General of the Border Security Force.

  • What is the name of the current BSF DG?

The name of the current BSF DG is Pankaj Kumar Sharma (IPS).

  • Who was the first-ever BSF DG?

The first-ever Director-General of the Border Security Force was Khusro Faramurz Rustomji.