Andhra Pradesh Reorganization Act 2014

By : Neha Dhyani

Updated : May 17, 2022, 4:43

The AP Reorganisation Act 2014 is an Indian Parliament Act that partitioned the state of Andhra Pradesh into Telangana and the rest of Andhra Pradesh. The bill was proposed on December 5, 2013, and the two separate states were formally constituted on June 2, 2014.

The AP Bifurcation Act 2014 was implemented to enforce the reorganisation of the existing state of Andhra Pradesh, the formation of a new state, Telangana, other and related concerns.

AP Reorganisation Act 2014 Historical Background

The Telangana Movement was a campaign that demanded the establishment of an independent state of Telangana. Students and government officials continued to agitate for Telangana in 1969, but it was crushed shortly.

Then after several decades, the Telugu Desam Party backed the proposal for an independent state of Telangana in October 2008.

Following seasons of protest, demonstration, and turmoil, and in response to the Telangana movement's massive demand for a new state, the Central Government, led by the UPA government, decided to split the Andhra Pradesh state into Telangana and the remainder of the state.

☛ Also Read: Weekly Current Affairs PDF

AP Reorganisation Act 2014 Significance and Implications

Hyderabad is to serve as the unified capital of Telangana and Andhra Pradesh for a maximum of ten years. Hyderabad is to become Telangana's capital, and Andhra Pradesh will gain a new one after the term concludes.

Within six months following the implementation of the AP Bifurcation Act 2014, the Central Government shall create an expert committee to study feasible choices for the successor state of Andhra Pradesh's new capital and provide suitable recommendations.

The Governor of the present Andhra Pradesh state would function as the Governor of both the successor states for such period as the President may decide. The First and Fourth Schedules of the Constitution were amended due to the provisions of the AP Reorganisation Act, 2014.

The Legislative Assemblies seats of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana would be 175 and 119, respectively. Both the states shall constitute a Legislative Council of a maximum of 58 members in AP and 40 members in Telangana, as stated by Article 169 of the Constitution.

Starting on the designated day and lasting until a distinct High Court for Andhra Pradesh is created under Article 214 of the Constitution, the High Court of Judicature in Hyderabad shall act as the joint High Court for the states of Telangana and Andhra Pradesh.

Important Exams
SSC ExamDefence Exam
SSC CHSL ExamSSC Steno Exam
RRB NTPC ExamIBPS Clerk Exam

Vital Highlights of the AP Bifurcation Act, 2014

The Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act 2014 has 108 sections, 13 Schedules, and 12 Parts.

As per the AP Reorganisation Act 2014, Telangana includes the following regions, namely, Adilabad, Karimnagar, Medak, Nizamabad, Warangal, Rangareddi, Nalgonda, Mahbubnagar, Khammam (but excluding the revenue villages in the Mandals), Bhurgampadu, Seetharamanagaram, Kondreka, Hyderabad. These areas are no longer part of Andhra Pradesh.

The AP Bifurcation Act 2014 led to the formation of a new state, the 29th for India. As a result of this legislation, the Schedules and Articles of the Indian Constitution got amended.

More Current Affairs Topics
India Energy Outlook 2021India Football Ranking
India Industrial Land Bank IilbIndia Oman Exercise
India Paralympics Medal TallyIndia Ranking in World
India State of Forest Report 2021Indian Biodiversity Awards
Indian Bison GaurIndian Diaspora

FAQs on AP Reorganisation Act 2014

Q1. What exactly is the AP Reorganisation Act 2014?

The AP Reorganisation Act, 2014, also known as the Telangana Act, is an Act of the Indian Parliament that divided the state of Andhra Pradesh into Telangana and the residuary Andhra Pradesh state as a result of the Telangana movement.

Q2. How many sections does the AP Reorganisation Act 2014 have?

The AP Reorganisation Act 2014 has 108 sections, 12 Parts, and 13 Schedules.

Q3. When was the AP Reorganisation Act 2014 bill introduced?

The bill for the AP Reorganisation Act 2014 was introduced on 5th December 2013, the first day of the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly's winter session.

Q4. When was Telangana created with regard to AP Reorganisation Act 2014?

Telangana was inaugurated officially on 2nd June 2014, after the enactment of the AP Reorganisation Act 2014. Sri K Chandrashekar Rao was sworn in as Telangana's first Chief Minister following the April 2014 General Elections.