Study Notes: Important Personalities of MP

By Trupti Thool|Updated : April 30th, 2022

MPPSC conducts Civil services exam every year for various posts in state services. The preliminary exam has a good portion of factual data for which this article will provide you with information about various famous personalities from the state of Madhya Pradesh.


Important Personalities of MP

Atal Bihari Vajpayee-

Atal Bihari Vajpayee, (born December 25, 1924) is the former Prime Minister of India.

He was the Prime Minister of India from 16th May to 1 June 1996 (Shortest term of PM) and again from 19th March 1998 to 22nd May 2004.

He is also a Hindi poet, journalist and eminent speaker. He is one of the founders of Bharatiya Jan Sangh and was its president from 1968 to 1973.

He was awarded Bharat Ratna in December 2014 for his contribution to the development of excellence and for extraordinary work.

Dr. Shankardayal Sharma-

He was born on 19th August, 1918 in Bhopal and died in 1999. He was the ninth President of India. His tenure lasted from July 25, 1992 to July 25, 1997. Before becoming the President, he was also the eighth Vice President of India.

Vijayaaraje Scindia-

Rajmata Vijayaraje Scindia was born in 1919 AD Sagar, in the Rana family of Madhya Pradesh. Mr Mahendrasingh Thakur, father of Vijaya Raje Scindia, was the Deputy Collector of Jalaun district, and the mother was Mrs. 'Vindeshwari Devi'.

Vijayaaraje Scindia's name before marriage was 'Lekha Divyeshwari'. The marriage of Vijayaaraje Scindia took place on February 21, 1941 in the city of Gwalior with Maharaja Jivaji Rao Scindia. She died in 2001.

Madhavrao Scindia-Madhavrao Scindia was born on March 10, 1945 in the Scindia family of Gwalior. Madhavrao Scindia was the son of Rajmata Vijaya Raje Scindia and Jivaji Rao Scindia of Gwalior Rajgharna.

In 2001, this Congress leader of a Madhya Pradesh died untimely in an accident. He was the Union Minister.

Kushabhau Thakre Kushabhau Thakre (15 August 1922) was an Indian politician belonging to the Bharatiya Janata Party. He was the president of the party from 1998 to 2000. He died in 2004.

Lata Mangeshkar-Lata Mangeshkar (born September 28, 1929 Indore) is one of India's most popular and respected singers. Also known as 'Swara Samragini'.

Kishore Kumar-Famous singer Kishore Kumar was born in Khandwa, Madhya Pradesh. He was a singer, producer, director and actor. 

Narendra Hirwani-

Was Born in Indore. Narendra Hirwani Deepchand (born 18 October 1968) is a leg-spin bowler, having made an unprecedented record with 8-8 wickets in both innings of his first Test match.

Shankar Laxman-  

Born in Indore in 1933, Laxman was a renowned hockey player.

Captain Mushtaq Ali-

In 1914, this famous cricketer was born in Indore. He scored more than 10,000 runs in first-class cricket

Sandhya Agarwal- She is a famous female cricket player of Madhya Pradesh is the captain of the Indian women's cricket team.

Mahakavi Kalidas- Kalidas was considered one of nine gems of Ujjain's Vikramaditya court, and Kalidas was called Shakespeare of India.The main compositions of Kalidas include Mahalvikagnimitrum, Meghdoot, Ritusahar, Raghuvansh, and Abhijananshakkuntalam.


Maharaja Bhartruhari was the great scholar of Sanskrit and a famous poet, as well as a king of a vast kingdom. He was the elder brother of Emperor Vikramaditya of Ujjain and a disciple of Gorakhnath. The most important of his writings is the tri-shatak, the niti shatak, the shringar shatak and vairagya shatak


His real name was Srikanth, whose father's name was Nilkanth and his mother's name was Jatakarni. He was the court poet of king Yashovarman.of kannauj. Bhavamuti is called Indian Milton. Bhavamuti, the disciple of Gyanjidhi, composed the three major Sanskrit plays, Malti Madhav, Mahavir Charit, and Ramcharit


Keshavdas was the first Acharya and Mahakavi of Ritikal of Hindi literature. Keshavdas was born in the year 1555 in the brahmin family in Orchha. His death took place in 1674.

Makhan Lal Chaturvedi-

Makhanlal Chaturvedi was born on April 4, 1889, in Babai village of Hoshangabad district of MP.His father Shree Nandlal Chaturvedi was a teacher. He was influenced by Gandhiji. He participated in the Non-Cooperation Movement of 1920 and went to prison several times. He died on January 30, 1968. His prose is 'Sahitya Devata' and his poem is collection of 'Banwasi' and Pushpa ki abhilasha.

Subhadra kumari Chauhan-

Poetry Subhadra kumari Chauhan was born in 1904 in Nihalpur, Prayag, in a prosperous Thakur family. She is one of the poets of the chhayaad era. Her composition “Bikhre Moti” and “Unmadini” are  short stories based on the life of the middle class.

Gajanan Madhav Muktibodh-

Muktibodha was born on 14 November 1917 in Sheopur district. He was Died on September 11, 1964 His Poetry collection - Chand ka Muh Teda hai, Bhuri-Bhuri Kahl Dhul etc. 

Bal Krishna Sharma ‘Naveen'-

Balkrishna Sharma 'Naveen' was born in the village of Mayana in Shajapur district of M P, on December 8, 1897. He was impressed with Gandhiji's ideas. Naveen Ji was also a member of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha. He was died in Delhi on April 29, 1960. Urmila epic has given special recognition to Naveenji. The Govt of India awarded him the third highest civilian honour of the Padma Bhushan in 1960 for his contribution to literature. 

Harishankar Parsai

Harishankar Parsai was a notorious satirist and humorous writer of modern Hindi literature, Harishankar Parsai was born on 22nd August, 1924 in Jamnani village of Hoshangabad district. He published a magazine named Vasudha from Jabalpur.

Sharad Joshi-

Sharad Joshi was born on 21 May 1931 in Ujjain. He was awarded the Padma Shri by the Indian Government in 1983. Joshiji's died in September 1991.

Dr. Shivamangal Singh Suman-

Dr. Shivamangal Singh Suman was born on 14th August 1915 in Village Zagrapur of Unnao district in Uttar Pradesh. Dr. Suman started his academic career as Professor of Hindi Department at Victoria College (Gwalior) in 1942. From 1968 to 1978, he worked as the Vice-Chancellor of Vikram University Ujjain. He was honoured by the Government of India by the Padma Shri, Padma Bhushan and M.P. 

Important Personalities of MP Download PDF In English
Important Personalities of MP Download PDF In Hindi

More from us:

MPPSC के लिए Complete Free Study Notes, अभी Download करें

Download Free PDFs of Daily, Weekly & Monthly करेंट अफेयर्स in Hindi & English

NCERT Books तथा उनकी Summary की PDFs अब Free में Download करें 


write a comment

Follow us for latest updates