North India States - Capitals and Chief Minister

By : Neha Dhyani

Updated : Jun 13, 2023, 10:52

North India States include the regions that are located in the northernmost part of India. These include several states and union territories. India is a vast country and hence, for proper administration and geographical and cultural studies, the country is divided into a few sections. North Indian states are defined and listed differently by different government sources.

North India is a prosperous region with a rich history and is also India’s centre of administration. In this article, we have shared the list of North India States, based on the definition of the Ministry of Home Affairs, and other government sources.

North Indian States - Definition

The regions located in the northern part of the country are often referred to as the North Indian States. Different authorities, like the Government of India and the press, define north Indian states differently. Here are some of the definitions:

  • To the Ministry of Home Affairs, the northern territory comprises the states of Punjab, Rajasthan, Haryana, and Himachal Pradesh alongside the union territories of Delhi, Chandigarh, Ladakh, and Jammu and Kashmir.
  • The Ministry of Culture excludes Delhi from its list of north Indian states and includes Uttarakhand.
  • The Geographical Survey of India excludes Rajasthan and Chandigarh from their list of the north Indian states while including both Delhi and Uttarakhand.

North Indian States List (Ministry of Home Affairs)

Since the names of the North Indian States differ according to various government bodies, most of the administrative work is carried out according to the rules laid down by the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA). Here are the names of the northern states of India, as mentioned by the MHA.


North India State


Chief Minister





Manohar Lal Khattar



Himachal Pradesh


Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu





Bhagwant Mann





Ashok Gehlot










Arvind Kejriwal



Jammu and Kashmir







Jamyang Tsering Namgyal



Uttar Pradesh


Yogi Adityanath





Pushkar Singh Dhami


North India States Map

The northern part of India consists of several states and union territories. It covers a huge area and is home to people of diverse cultures, religions and beliefs.

North India States Map

Northern States of India - Geographical Features

North India States are landlocked and are surrounded by some of the most striking geographical features. From deserts to mountains, there is so much that a tourist can see in the northern part of India. Here are the details about the geography of the northern states of India.

  • Roughly, the north Indian states are guarded by the mighty Himalayas in the north and the Indo-Gangetic plains towards the south and the east.
  • The dominant geographical feature towards the west of the northern states in India is the arid Indian desert - the Thar.
  • The Himalayas make up a natural border demarcating India from the Tibetian Plateau and the Karakorams of Central Asia.

North Indian States List - Dominant Language

India is a country where innumerable languages are spoken even today. It is no different in the north Indian states. Most of the states in North India have their own vernacular languages. Here is a list of some of the languages spoken widely in the northern part of India.

  • Uttar Pradesh - Hindi, Urdu
  • Delhi - Hindi, English, Urdu, Punjabi
  • Ladakh - Ladakhi
  • Haryana - Hindi, Punjabi, English
  • Rajasthan - Hindi, Sindhi, Gujarati, Punjabi
  • Chandigarh - Punjabi, English
  • Himachal Pradesh - Hindi, Pahari
  • Jammu and Kashmir - Kashmiri, Urdu, Dogri, English, Hindi
  • Uttarakhand - Pahari, Punjabi, Nepali, Hindi
  • Punjab - Punjabi, Hindi, English, Urdu

Most Important North Indian State

  • One of the most important territories in the northern part of India is Delhi.
  • An erstwhile seat of the Mughals, Delhi is a union territory that is often known as the National Capital Territory of Delhi and comprises New Delhi, the capital of India.
  • Besides being the most important north Indian state, Delhi is one of the country's major business, administrative, political, and tourist destinations.
  • Along with Noida, Gurgaon, Faridabad, and Ghaziabad, Delhi has termed the NCR or the country's National Capital Region.
  • As many as 111 companies ranked among the Fortune 500's have their offices in Delhi NCR.
  • One of the most amazing things about this north Indian state is that the official residences of the President and Prime Minister of India are situated in New Delhi.

Important Current Affairs Topics

World Book and Copyright DayFather of Science
International Mine Awareness DayNational Pet Day
National Safe Motherhood Day Panchayati Raj Day
RR Players ListPBKS Players List
LSG Players ListGT Players List

FAQs on North India States

Q1. What are the north Indian states and capitals?

The north Indian states and their capitals as per the Ministry of Home Affairs are as follows:

  • Haryana - Chandigarh
  • Punjab - Chandigarh
  • Delhi - N/A
  • Rajasthan - Jaipur
  • Chandigarh - N/A
  • Himachal Pradesh - Shimla
  • Jammu and Kashmir - Jammu/Kashmir
  • Ladakh - Leh
  • Uttarakhand - Gairsain/Dehradun
  • Uttar Pradesh - Lucknow

Q2. Which is the northernmost state of India?

Jammu and Kashmir is the northernmost state of India. The northernmost part of Jammu and Kashmir is called the Indira Col, a mountain pass located at an altitude of 5,764 metres. It is on the Indira Ridge, located in the Siachen Muztagh, Karakoram Range.

Q3. How many union territories are there in the north India states list?

There are four union territories in the north India states list. The union territories are

  1. Chandigarh
  2. Delhi
  3. Ladakh
  4. Jammu and Kashmir

Q4. Which is the most important north Indian state and why?

Delhi is the most important north Indian state. Even though it is a union territory, it is included in the list of northern states of India. Delhi is one of the most important regions of the country because it is the capital of India as well as the centre of administration of the country.

Q5. Is Himachal Pradesh north most state of India?

No, Himachal Pradesh is not the northernmost state of India. The northernmost state of India is Jammu and Kashmir. Jammu and Kashmir was made a union territory of India in 2019. Since then, it is included in the list of north Indian states.

Q6. Where can I get the list of north India states?

Get the list of north India states here. The names of the north Indian states are Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Delhi, Ladakh, Uttarakhand, J&K and Chandigarh. Find more details about the northern states of India here.