National E-Governance Plan [NeGP]

By : Neha Dhyani

Updated : Apr 21, 2022, 10:54

The National e-Governance Plan (NeGP) is an initiative introduced by the Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology. It aims to use the application of information and communication technologies to make the functioning of government more efficient and accountable.

The government approved the National e-Governance Plan on May 18, 2006. It is comprised of 27 Mission Mode Projects (MMPs) and eight components, which include core components and support components. In 2011, this was increased to 31 MMPs. Under NeGP 2.0 (introduced in 2015), there are 44 Mission Mode Projects (MMPs).

Key Facts About the National E-Governance Plan

The National e-Governance Plan was set up to integrate the e-governance initiatives at various levels of government and across the country. It aims to improve the effectiveness and transparency of exchanges across different government levels and improve the delivery of government services.

  • Vision: The vision is to make public services more accessible and affordable for common citizens.
  • Scope: The scope of the National e-Governance Plan covers Government-to-Government, Government-to-Business, Government-to-Citizen and Government-to-Employees interactions.
  • Core Components: The National e-Governance Plan has certain core components, which include State Wide Area Networks (SWAN), State Data Centres (SDC), and Common Service Centres (CSC).
  • Support Components: The support components include core policies, standards, HRD and training, and awareness and assessment.
  • NeGP 2.0: NeGP 2.0 or e-Kranti was introduced by the government in March 2015 under the Digital India program to utilise emerging technologies such as cloud, mobile platforms (like smartphones and tablets) and geospatial information systems.
  • Initiatives: Some of the e-governance initiatives include the Digital India initiative, Aadhaar, Digital Locker, computerisation of land records, E-Courts, e-procurement and G-I cloud.
Important Exams
SSC ExamDefence Exam
SSC CHSL ExamSSC Steno Exam
RRB NTPC ExamIBPS Clerk Exam

National e-Governance Plan - Mission Mode Projects

A Mission Mode Project (MMP) is an individual project within the National e-Governance Plan that covers a particular aspect of governance, such as land records, banking, immigration, etc.

  • MMPs are categorised as central, state or integrated projects.
  • The Central Government implements central MMPs; the State Governments implement the State MMPs. Both Central and State Governments integrate integrated MMPs.
  • The MMPs are divided as follows -
Central MMPsState MMPsIntegrated MMPs
  • Banking
  • Insurance
  • Income Tax
  • Central Excise and Customs
  • Ministry of Company Affairs (MCA 21)
  • Pensions
  • Passport
  • e-Office
  • UID
  • Immigration/Visa
  • Posts
  • Land Records
  • Road Transport
  • e-District
  • Commercial Taxes
  • Treasuries Computerisation
  • Agriculture
  • Municipalities
  • Police - CCTNS (Crime & Criminal Tracking Network & Systems)
  • Public Distribution Systems (PDS)
  • Health
  • Education
  • e-Panchayats
  • Employment Exchange
  • India Portal
  • National e-Governance Service Delivery Gateway
  • Common Service Centres
  • e-Courts
  • Electronic Data Interchange for e-Trade
  • e-Procurement
  • e-Biz

In addition to the above 31 MMPs, NeGP 2.0 introduced 13 new MMPs in 2015, including e-Sansad, e-Vidhaan, Financial Inclusion, and Urban Governance.

24th National Conference on e-Governance (NCeG)

The 24th National Conference on e-Governance (NCeG) was organised on the 7th and 8th February 2022 by the Department of Administrative Reforms & Public Grievances and the Ministry of Electronics & Information Technology, in association with the State Government of Telangana.

The National e-Governance Plan offers a way ahead in simplifying governance through modern technology. It is a way to improve the delivery of government services to citizens and businesses and interactions within the government. It can increase transparency and accountability, speedy administration of government services, and reduce corruption.

More Current Affairs Topics
INS TalwarINS Jalashwa
Indian Wild AssInequality Virus Report by Oxfam International
International Day for Rural WomenInternational Tea Day
International Day of FriendshipInternational Day for Tolerance
Monoclonal AntibodiesMontreux Convention

FAQs on National e-Governance Plan

Q.1. When was the National e-Governance Plan approved by the government?

The National e-Governance Plan was approved on May 18, 2006.

Q.2. What is the objective of the National e-Governance Plan?

The objective of the National e-Governance Plan is to use modern technology to improve the delivery of government services and to make governance more efficient and accountable.

Q.3. Why was National e-Governance Plan 2.0 introduced?

National e-Governance Plan 2.0 was introduced to utilize emerging technologies such as cloud and mobile platforms to integrate the delivery of services.

Q.4. What are the main core components of the National e-Governance Plan?

The main core components of the National e-Governance Plan are State Wide Area Networks (SWAN), State Data Centres (SDC) and Common Service Centres (CSC).

Q.5. What are some initiatives introduced under the National e-Governance Plan?

Some initiatives introduced under the National e-Governance Plan are the Digital India initiative, Aadhaar and Digital Locker.