List of Districts of Karnataka 2023

By : Neha Dhyani

Updated : Jan 16, 2023, 16:19

Karnataka Districts list consists of 31 districts located in 4 major administrative divisions. These administrative divisions are Bangalore Division, Belagavi Division, Mysore Division, and Kalaburagi Division. The list of districts in Karnataka initially consisted of only Kannada-speaking regions until 1956.

Many former states such as Mysore and Coorg were added to the state of Karnataka in 1956. To follow the changes that there have been in the districts in Karnataka, read the information given below.

How Many Districts in Karnataka?

At present, there are 31 districts in Karnataka. For better law and order, these districts have been distributed in 4 administrative divisions of Bangalore, Belagavi, Mysore, and Kalaburagi. However, there have been many changes in the Karnataka districts in recent years.

In fact, the people of the state are demanding to introduce more districts in Karnataka, such as follows -

  • Tipaturu and Madhugiri from Tumakuru district
  • Putturu from Dakshina Kannada district
  • Jamakhandi from Bagalkote district
  • Sedam from Kalaburagi district
  • Chikkodi and Gokak from Belagavi district
  • Sirsi from Uttara Kannada district
  • Hunasuru from Mysuru district
  • Indi from Vijayapura district
  • Sindhanuru from Raichuru district

List of Districts in Karnataka

We have shared the complete list of districts in Karnataka here. Check out the table shared below to find out the names of all the 31 Karnataka districts -

List of Karnataka Districts 2023

Bengaluru Urban





Dakshina Kannada










Uttara Kannada














Bengaluru Rural



History of Districts in Karnataka

The history of Karnataka districts can be traced back to 1956 when the former states of Coorg and Mysore were merged with Kannada-speaking regions. These regions included Hyderabad, Mysore, and Bombay. When the state was finalized, it was given the name of Karnataka in 1973. Since then, many subsequent districts in Karnataka have been added.

Here are some of the major events that have happened ever since the initial Karnataka districts were established

  • In June 2007, the districts of Chikkaballapura from Kolar and Ramanagara from Bengaluru Rural were formed.
  • In December 2009, the district of Yadagiri was carved out from Kalaburagi.
  • Recently, in November 2020, the Chief Minister of Karnataka, B.S. Yeduriappa created the district of Vijayanagara from Ballari.

Karnataka Districts - Administrative Structure

As mentioned earlier, the districts in Karnataka are divided into 4 major administrative divisions. Each of these administrative divisions is headed by a District Commissioner. Moreover, a Superintendent of Police is responsible for looking after the situation of law and order in the administrative division.

Here, we have shared how the Karnataka districts are divided into an administrative structure -

Bangalore Division

Belagavi Division

Mysore Division

Kalaburagi Division

  • Bengaluru Rural
  • Bengaluru Urban (Headquarters)
  • Chikkaballapura
  • Chitradurga
  • Davanagere
  • Kolar
  • Ramanagara
  • Shivamogga
  • Tumakuru
  • Bagalkote
  • Belagavi (Headquarters)
  • Dharwada
  • Gadaga
  • Haveri
  • Uttara Kannada
  • Vijayapura
  • Chamarajanagara
  • Chikkamagaluru
  • Dakshina Kannada
  • Hassan
  • Kodagu
  • Mandya
  • Mysuru (Headquarters)
  • Udupi
  • Ballari
  • Bidar
  • Kalaburagi (Headquarters)
  • Koppala
  • Raichuru
  • Vijayanagara
  • Yadagiri

Karnataka District Map

Find out the geographic location of all the Karnataka districts on the map shared here. It will also give you a better idea of the size of the districts of the state. Check out the image for the List of Districts Present Today in Karnataka State.

Karnataka District Map

Important Current Affairs Topics
Important Days in AugustImportant Days in July
World Test Championship WinnersJallikattu Festival
Difference between Prelims and MainsIndian Army Day
International Holocaust Remembrance DayImportant Days in April
Important Days in SeptemberImportant Days in October

FAQs on Karnataka Districts

Q1. How many districts in Karnataka are there in 2023?

There are 31 districts in Karnataka. The districts in the state of Karnataka include Davanagere, Kodagu, Mysuru, Vijayanagara, Bidar, Ballary, Belagavi, Mandya, Kolara, Hassan, Bengaluru Rural, Dakshina Kannada, Chamarajanagara, Ramanagara, Haveri, Raichur, Udupi, etc.

Q2. Which is the 31st district of Karnataka?

The 31st district of Karnataka is Vijayanagara, which was carved out of the Bellary district on 2 October 2021. Before this, there were only 30 districts in Karnataka. The Vijayanagara district falls in the Kalyana Karnataka region and the headquarters of Vijayanagara are in Hosapete.

Q3. Which is the biggest district in Karnataka?

The biggest district in Karnataka is Belagavi, which is also known as Belgaum. Located in North Karnataka, this district is spread across an area of 13,400 square kilometres. The population in this district of Karnataka is estimated to be around 4,779,661.

Q4. Where can I find the list of districts in Karnataka?

You can check out the list of districts in Karnataka here. We have shared a dedicated table showcasing the names of all the districts in Karnataka 2023. In addition, we have also shared information about the changes that have happened to Karnataka districts, ever since the state was officially formed in 1973.

Q5. What are the names of districts in Karnataka?

The names of districts in Karnataka are Vijayanagara, Bidar, Ballary, Belagavi, Davanagere, Kodagu, Mysuru, Mandya, Kolara, Hassan, Bengaluru Rural, Dakshina Kannada, Chamarajanagara, Ramanagara, Haveri, Raichur, Udupi, Bagalkote, Tumakuru, and others.

Q6. What are the top 5 districts in Karnataka in terms of area?

The top 10 districts in Karnataka in terms of area are Belgavi (13,415 square km), Kalaburagi (10,951 square km), Vijayapura (10,498 square km), Tumakuru (10,597 square km), and Uttara Kannada (10,291 square km).