India's Official Olympic Theme Song: Lakshya Tera Samne Hai

By : Neha Dhyani

Updated : Feb 24, 2022, 12:26

Ahead of the Tokyo Olympics 2020, India launched the official theme song for the sportsmen participating in the Tokyo Games. The title of the song was "Lakshya Tera Samne Hai," and it was composed by famous Indian singer-composer Mohit Chauhan. The release of the "Tera song" saw the then Sports Minister of India, Kiren Rijiju, as the chief guest. The Indian Olympic Association hosted the event. It was attended by many dignitaries, including the IOA President, the Deputy Chef De Mission of the IOA, the Sports Secretary of India, and the Sports Authority of India's Deputy General. This song further marks India's first official song for the Olympics.  

During the launch of the song, Union Sports Minister Kiren Rijiju showcased his gratitude for Prime Minister Narendra Modi and said, "It is the vision of the Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi that the entire nation must come together to support and motivate Indian athletes going to Tokyo Olympics." He further launched a nationwide campaign - named "Cheer 4 India" that had various activities on Olympics, including quizzes, discussions, and debates. 

What further makes the Tera song extremely important is that it was composed and produced during the COVID-19 pandemic. Interestingly, the song was launched on the same day that marked the commencement of the Tokyo Olympics 2020.

The Tokyo Olympics began on July 23 and ended on August 8. The famous global athlete event was scheduled to be held in 2020 but owing to the pandemic, it was shifted to the above-mentioned date in 2021. India showcased one of their best Olympic performances to date with Neeraj Chopra claiming a gold and shuttler PV Sindhu making history by winning two medals in two consecutive Olympics. 

India in Tokyo Olympics 2020

Tokyo Olympics 2020 was immensely important in the Indian sports fraternity. India finished 48th in the sports event - and 33rd with respect to the overall medals won, which is the best performance showcased by the country in over 40 years. In the 2020 Tokyo Olympics, India bagged a total of 7 medals, which included 4 bronze, 2 silver, and a gold.

The bronze medals were won by the Indian Men's Hockey Team, P.V. Sindhu for badminton, and Lovlina Borgohain and Bajrang Punia each for wrestling. The silver medals were won by Ravi Kumar Dahiya for wrestling and Mirabai Chanu for weightlifting. India's star performer was Neeraj Chopra, who won India its first and only gold for the year in the javelin. 

Neeraj Chopra - India's First Javelin Olympics Gold Medalist

India's poster boy for the year 2021, Neeraj Chopra stunned the entire world with his gold medal performance in Tokyo Olympics 2020. In doing so, he also became India's second Olympics gold medal winner in any individual category after Abhinav Bindra. The 23-year-old from Haryana produced a throw of 87.58m at the Tokyo Olympics javelin final to clinch the top medal.

More Current Affair Topics:
Wooden SatelliteWorld Environmental Health Day
World Hearing DayWorld Liver Day
Central Government SchemesCryptogamic Garden
Global Food Security IndexHambantota Port
Harvest Festival of KeralaImportant Days in August

FAQs About India's official Olympic Theme Song

Q.1) What is India's official Olympic theme song for the Tokyo Olympics 2020?

"Lakshya Tera Samne Hai" was the official theme song of the Tokyo Olympics 2020. It was sung and composed by Mohit Chauhan. 

Q.2) Who chaired the launch event of the Tera song?

The launch event of "Lakshya Tera Samne Hai" was chaired by the then Union Sports Minister, Kiren Rijiju. 

Q.3) Who won India's only gold in the event? 

Neeraj Chopra won India a gold medal in the Tokyo Games 2020 in the javelin.