List of Districts in Andhra Pradesh 2023

By : Neha Dhyani

Updated : Feb 1, 2023, 16:36

Andhra Pradesh districts: On 5th April 2022, Andra Pradesh Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy proposed 13 new districts under the AP Districts Formation Act, Section 3(5). The Government of Andhra Pradesh has issued a draft notification to increase the total number of districts from 13 to 26.

The new districts include Palnadu, Nandyal, Kona Seema, Elura, NTR District, Bapatla, Sri Satyasai, Manyam, Alluri Sitharama Raju, Anakapalli, Kakinada, Annamayya, and Sri Balaji district. Take a detailed look at the 26 Andhra Pradesh districts below.

How Many Districts in Andhra Pradesh

The new number of Andhra Pradesh districts has increased from 13 to 26. Andhra Pradesh CM Jagan Mogan Reddy had promised during the 2019 poll campaign for the 2019 Assembly Elections that, if the party comes to power, then it would make every Lok Sabha constituency a district. He fulfilled promise on 5th April 2022, announcing the new districts in AP.

The inauguration of the Andhra Pradesh new districts was via video conferencing, and officials from all the districts attended this digital inauguration ceremony. Here is some information about AP districts:


Andhra Pradesh

Chief Minister

Jagan Mohan Reddy

New Number of AP Districts


Previous Number of Districts in AP


Andhra Pradesh Districts List

The Andhra Pradesh districts list can be found here with other details. The new districts in the Indian state of Andhra Pradesh were announced on 5th April 2022. After the release of the notification, the Andhra Pradesh government reshuffled IPS and IAS officers and all the appointed collectors and superintendents of police to the newly formed districts.

The Chief Minister of AP, Jagan Mohan Reddy, will soon release district portals and handbooks so that people can understand the AP new districts structure easily. Reddy has congratulated the officials, employees, and people on the new district's formation, and he has also asked the officials to take care of the people and help them to get benefited from the government schemes.

How Many Districts are in AP?

After 5th April 2022, the number of Andhra Pradesh districts increased from 13 to 26. The Chief Minister of AP, Jagan Mohan Reddy, mentioned that the formation of these districts was crucial as the population of Andhra Pradesh is above 5 crores. Reddy has also mentioned that this step will help the people to get government schemes directly on their doorstep.

New Districts in AP

Here is a list of Andhra Pradesh new districts:

  • Manyam district is carved out of Vizianagaram district
  • Bapatla is carved out of the Guntur district
  • Nandyal is carved out of the Kurnool district
  • Kakinada is carved out of the East Godavari district
  • Konaseema is carved out of the East Godavari district
  • Eluru is carved out of the West Godavari district
  • Palnadu is carved out of the Guntur district
  • Sri Satya Sai district is carved out of Anantapur
  • Sri Balaji is carved out of the Chittoor district
  • Annamaya is carved out of the Kadapa district
  • N T Rama Rao district was carved out of the existing Krishna district.
  • Anakapalli district is carved out of Visakhapatnam district
  • Alluri Sitarama Raju is carved out of the Visakhapatnam district

Andhra Pradesh Districts - Complete List

The following list contains the 26 districts of Andhra Pradesh (old and new). Check out the details of the new districts in AP below:

Andhra Pradesh Districts - Old and New

Alluri Sitharama Raju






East Godavari




Kona Seema




NTR District




SPS Nellore

Sri Satyasai District

Sri. Balaji Dist




West Godavari

YSR Kadapa

Andhra Pradesh District Map

Find out the geographic location of all the Andhra Pradesh districts on the map shared here. It will also give you a better idea of the size of the districts of the state. Check out the image for the List of Districts Present Today in Andhra Pradesh State.

Andhra Pradesh District Map

Important Current Affairs Topics

Hockey World Cup ScheduleImportant Days in November
Important Days in DecemberMost Goals in International Football
List of Districts in AssamList of Districts of Karnataka
List of Districts in BiharList of Districts in Maharashtra
List of Districts in TelanganaMost Olympic Gold Medals

FAQs on Andhra Pradesh Districts

Q1. How many districts in AP are there?

There are 26 districts in AP. The number of districts in the state increased from 13 to 26 after the Chief Minister, Jagan Mohan Reddy, announced the formation of new districts on 5th April 2022. The CM said that the formation of these districts was crucial as the population of AP is above 5 crores.

Q2. What are the new Andhra Pradesh districts?

The total number of districts in Andhra Pradesh is 26. The new AP districts include Manyam, Bapatla, Nandyal, Kakinada, Konaseema, Eluru, Palnadu, Sri Satya Sai, Sri Balaji, Annamaya, N T Rama Rao, and Anakapalli Alluri Sitarama Raju.

Q3. What are the new AP 23 districts names?

The names of all the districts in AP are Srikakulam, Parvathipuram Manyam, Visakhapatnam, Vizianagaram, Anakapalli, Kakinada, Konaseena, Alluri Sitaramaraju, East Godavari, Eluru, NTR District, Guntur, West Godavari, Bapatla, Palnadu, Sri Potti Sriramulu Nellore, Prakasam, Tirupati, Annamayya, YSR Kadapa, Chittoor, Ananthapuramu, Kurnool, Sri Sathya Sai, and Nandyal.

Q4. When were the new Andhra Pradesh districts announced?

The new Andhra Pradesh districts were announced on 5th April 2022 by the Chief Minister, Jagan Mohan Reddy. In 2019 elections, Jagan Mohan Reddy promised to carve out new districts in the state.

Q5. Where can I find the AP districts new list?

The list of new districts in AP is shared here. It includes the newly formed states and old states. Check out the list to get information about the new districts of Andhra Pradesh. After the new districts were formed in the state, the total number of districts increased from 13 to 26.